Skip to content

Week 1: Create a Vision // Day 4: Bench

October 4, 2011
tags: , ,

When she designs a brand-new house, Taylor creates a behaviorally minded, Katsura-like entry that sets a “cleansing experience” of calming sights and sounds – the tinkle of wind chimes, perhaps, and a glimpse of a fountain or pool – that smooth the transition from world to haven and connect the home with nature.
—Winifred Gallagher, House Thinking (emphasis mine)

Some form of seating is always a good addition to an entry way for sitting down when putting shoes on, or just to rest your stuff on while putting on your coat. Also, I love the idea of bringing a bit of nature inside and doing this in the entry, the transitional space between outside and inside, makes sense to me.

We have a rustic looking wooden bench and when this image caught my eye, I knew immediately that I wanted to paint it white and put some potted plants on it.

Then recently, I was watching the movie Scoop when my eye darted from a distraught Woody Allen to the geraniums in terra cotta pots…


{Screen shot from movie ‘Scoop’}

The movie is set in England and if memory serves me correctly, this scene is going on in an cottage in the English country side – or something like it anyway. I love the idea of bringing a bit of English country cottage vibe into our entryway! Because I’ve gotten into the habit of recording flashes of inspiration, I took a screen shot of the scene so I could remember this idea.

Do you like to bring nature into your home? How do you do it?

Can’t wait to show some more of my inspiration photos tomorrow! Thanks for following along!

See all the posts I have written about our entry so far by clicking on the image below:

Find out what other 31 Day bloggers are doing HERE.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2011 7:58 pm

    Right now we have a cheap ugly shoe rack in our entry way and stairs to sit on for taking shoes off and on. But I’d love a pretty decorated bench to be there instead! What a great idea. Thanks for sharing :)

  2. October 6, 2011 8:34 pm

    The first photo is so adorable. But whatever the opposite of a green thumb is, I have it. Fake plants only for me!

Leave a Reply

