Skip to content

Week 1: Create a Vision // Day 3: Go After It

October 3, 2011

Once you get an idea of what you really care about (…) have the courage to go after it, to persist. To have what you really like requires some choices in how you invest. — Winnifred Gallagher, House Thinking

One of the pieces that’s going into our entry is a mid-century modern small cabinet with two drawers that I bought from neighbors that were moving for $15. It’s a good size to use as a little table in the entry. The truth is that I’d probably buy something else if I had a choice, but right now it’s what I have and I will make it work.

Here’s a photo that I came across a while ago when looking for inspiration for our entry and it’s the one photo that really made me think of our little entry as an entity in and of its own – as not just a place to pass through but a place that needs its own character.

While the vibe of this photo is completely different from what I am doing with our entry, I do love it and one element in particular: A blue chest of drawers.

 


{Image: Miles Redd}

I really love the vibe in this photo and again I find that my eye is drawn to the blue, a chair in this case, but it’s the color that catches my eye.


{Design: Amy Meier, Image: Better Homes & Gardens, Photographed by King Au}

It’s funny how it can take practice to pay attention to what you like. I think it’s easy to take for granted that you like what you like. Does that make sense? For example, I could look at these photos and think: “Oh I like that”, but then still be undecided about what color to paint my little cabinet.

Once you find out what you like, go after it – find a way to make it happen in your life/home. It takes choices and it may take some effort, but it will be worth it!

I’m really looking forward to sharing some more of my virtual inspiration board tomorrow!

See all the posts I have written about our entry so far by clicking on the image below:

Find out what other 31 Day bloggers are doing HERE.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2011 3:33 am

    Just discovered your blog, looking forward to reading more!

  2. October 4, 2011 7:23 pm

    What you wrote about paying attention to what you like totally makes sense. It’s funny how much more clearly I can see and understand my style and taste after almost a year of pinning things to Pinterest. I’ve been able to see trends emerge and can more easily identify why I like things and how I can make them my own.

  3. October 4, 2011 11:24 pm

    Oh, love this series and all the inspiration. Glad you joined in the 31 Days! Keep up the good work!!

Leave a Reply

