Skip to content

Week 1: Create a Vision // Day 2: Door Color

October 2, 2011

A good entry tells you that you’ve left the mad world behind for a private haven and invites the expectation of pleasures to come. — Winnifred Gallagher, House Thinking

I have long loved this entry done by Lauren Liess from Pure Style Home. While my entry looks nothing like it, one of the things I kept coming back to was the color of the door. I love the happy golden orange she has used, such a warm welcome.

Foyer eclectic entry
eclectic entry design by dc metro interior designer Lauren Liess Interiors

When thinking about a color that would add a jolt of happy color to our entry, it was this cranberry red that caught my attention.


{Meredith Heron}

The door will be painting is not our front door, but the door from the entry/mudroom that leads to the stairs and living room. I had been thinking more along the lines of painting it a neutral color, white, grey or black. But the longer I thought about it, the more excited I got about painting it red: It’s a color we both love and it will also go with the red wall we have in our living room. Yay!

It’s funny how photos can lead to light bulb moments. If you find it hard to figure out what you want, you can start by paying attention to the little things that your thoughts keep circling back to and the photos that tug at your heart strings even if they look nothing like your actual house. There are clues in them to the things that let your heart know that it has left the mad world behind and entered a private haven.

I look forward to sharing some more of my inspiration photos tomorrow!

See all the posts I have written about our entry so far by clicking on the image below:

Find out what other 31 Day bloggers are doing HERE.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2011 10:26 am

    Love this topic…I bookmarked you so you will be easy to find.

  2. October 2, 2011 7:36 pm

    I love that color! (the cranberry, although the orange is pretty fun, too!)

  3. October 2, 2011 11:32 pm

    Jadyn! I love that color, too! It just shouts “Come on in to this happy house!”
    Thank you for popping by!
    Kerry at housetalkn.blogspot.com

  4. October 3, 2011 2:08 am

    That image is single-handedly responsible for starting my love affair with Lauren and her great style! You are so right about a great pop of color, can’t wait to see more inspiration!

  5. October 3, 2011 12:19 pm

    I love colored doors. They always remind me of the movie Notting Hill.

  6. eggthoughts permalink
    October 3, 2011 3:52 pm

    What great colors, both of them! It’s interesting but for some reason when I was reading your 31 days posts so far, I kept thinking they were similar to mine… although my challenge is very different from yours! But I have been thinking over just how much my surroundings influence me, whether it is intentionally set up on my part or not, and the quotes you have shared also talk about that. ~Frances

Leave a Reply

