Skip to content

Week 1: Create A Vision // Day 1: Getting Inspired & Video Tour

October 1, 2011

Here are some ways to get inspired:
Blogs
Magazines
Home Decor Books
Pinterest

Don’t just stop there, though! Keep your eyes open at all times. There is so much to be inspired by and there are visual cues in art, nature, movies, music videos – whatever it is that floats your boat can spark an idea or a thought that could just be what you need to envision what you want your room to be like.

Because I am a thinker, I’ve been enjoying this book House Thinking, which draws on research in behavioral science, among other things, to discuss how our spaces not only reflect but also shape us. I’ve been underlining quite a bit in it, and yes, the pencil in the photo is the one I actually use to underline phrases that particularly speak to me!

Because I enjoy the insights shared in this book so much, I’ll be sharing a few quotes from it this week.

…our houses and apartments are the stages on which much of the drama of daily life is enacted. Beginning with the very important entry, the home’s spaces are a series of sets that influence how we’ll play our parts. It only makes sense to ensure that our rooms cue the kinds of thoughts and feelings that help us to be happy and productive.
— Winnifred Gallagher, House Thinking

And to kick things of, I created a little video where I quickly take you into what our entry currently looks like. You get to hear my Dutch accent!

It’s kind of dark in the video and I am doing it very low-key by holding my laptop up and walking it around the space, which kind of gives it the effect like I am in a merry-go-round at times. I just hope it doesn’t give you motion sickness.

Also, it is HARD to be natural in front of a camera. And watching yourself? Yikes! I guess what I’m trying to say is…please be kind?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2011 9:17 am

    Hey, thanks for stopping by my blog! I agree with you on the blog friends comment. I also have to pay attention to our front entry. Actually, I have a million decorating things to do, most of the materials to do them, but not so much the getting them done bug. I am going to start today by doing a bog clean, which hopefully can free up tomorrow for projects :)
    Have a great weekend! Looking forward to the rest of the 31!

  2. October 2, 2011 2:02 am

    My dear, you are a natural in front of the camera! I loved the video and watching you in person, you are an amazing young woman and you know how much I enjoy following you.
    You are right, inspiration is every where, I only have to keep my eyes open, and also remember what I see (I should have a little book to record my ideas).
    Good luck for your October engagement.

  3. October 2, 2011 7:31 pm

    I love your accent!! And you seemed totally comfortable in front of the camera. The stop sign and coatrack are so much fun. Can’t wait to see what you do with it all!

  4. October 2, 2011 9:36 pm

    That was a great idea to do a video! I always think, after the fact, that I should have done before photos to go with the after ones! And I put that book on hold. I am a thinker too and it sounds very interesting. Thanks for mentioning it. I never even thought to look at magazines for decorating inspiration because I felt I had no eye for decorating and also figured I wouldn’t be able to afford what I saw! But that is a great idea of where to start to get a feel for what my style actually is.

    Lastly, thanks for stopping by my blog!

  5. October 6, 2011 10:58 am

    Oh how cute are you? It was like being on a merry go round, but your sweet voice made it all better. Love your entry way and the possibilities are endless. Color, yep you need to bring in the color you so love. Pillows on the bench would be cute too! Love that bench by the way. It is such a functional space right now for you guys, you are going to have fun fixing it up. Loved the video aspect, I don’t think I could do it, I am WAY too old and critical of myself LOL

Trackbacks

  1. Gearing Up for 31 Days of A Welcoming Entry « Dutch.British.Love

Leave a Reply

