Skip to content

Gearing Up for 31 Days of A Welcoming Entry

September 28, 2011

When studying interior decorating,
when reading blogs,
magazines,
browsing websites,
pinning pretty pictures on Pinterest,
it can be so easy to end up in a constant state of ‘wanting’,
do you know what I mean?

I’ve noticed this in myself. In part because we’ve been going through a financially challenging time, but also it is for me to get caught up in The Pretty: To always be looking at pretty stuff, and wishing I had more money to spend. It usually doesn’t happen consciously, but it quietly eats away at me if I don’t take action.

In particular, I’ve been frustrated at the things we’re not able to do in our house right now because of the reality of having a small budget. However, this doesn’t mean that I can’t take action.

I once read that action is the antidote to despair and I find it to be true. If you figure out what you can control and take action where you can, you start to feel a whole lot better very fast. The answer is not necessarily to stop doing any of the things I listed at the beginning of this post (I’ll always love looking at pretty pictures and I’m not about to drop out of my interior design course!), but to identify the area of frustration and take action where you can.

So, even though our budget has increased only marginally, I am tackling an area in our house that has been bothering me for a while, namely our entry. The entry it the first thing people see when they come into your house, yet ours has been sorely neglected.

Rather than calling it a makeover, I am calling it a makeunder, since I am following the process that Jess Constable outlines on her blog Makeunder My Life.

I’ll be writing all about our entry for 31 DAYS starting on Saturday October 1! I am quite excited (and a little nervous) to be participating in the 31 Day challenge that I came heard about via The Inspired Room. There will be a big Linky Party for anyone participating, so it should be fun to check out what everyone else is doing!

What I’ll be writing about will roughly follow this outline (all these, except for ‘Get To Work’, were taken from Jess Constable’s Makeunder principles):

Week 1: Create A Vision – I’ll be posting some of my inspiration photos, and thoughts on why creating a welcoming entry makes a difference.

Week 2: Exfoliate Stuff & Identify Intentions
I’ll show some of my before (horribly! messy!) pictures and how I felt 10 pounds lighter just from clearing out all the mess that had accumulated. I’ll also talk about my intentions for this space.

Week 3: Get To Work
I’ll be showing some before and afters of projects I’ve tackled for the entry, this includes painting furniture, walls, possibly wallpapering a wall with newspaper (Does that sound weird?? Maybe?…But don’t worry I think it will look cool. I hope.). And accessorizing, the fun part!

Week 4: Reflect and Evolve
I might have some more to share from the weeks before, I don’t really know how it’s going to pan out. But I might also discuss some of my ideas for fine-tuning the entry down the road.

It will be all about making the best of what you have and showing that it’s not so much about the products you buy, but the feeling you create with them that matters.

I might be biting off more than I can chew, I might not get as much done as I am hoping (especially because I am also planning to visit my sister in October and meet my baby nephew!) and I might not end up writing every day. But I am going to try. That I promise.

Ps. Check out The Inspired Room if you’re writing about one topic for the month of October sounds like a fun time to you, or if you’re just interested in seeing what other bloggers are doing.

Stop by again tomorrow for Getting Inspired & Video Tour!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2011 2:03 am

    How nice to have a dream and a project, i will follow you with interest.
    Newspaper on the walls? Great, great idea, I vote for it.
    I love your energy.

  2. September 29, 2011 7:51 am

    This is fantastic! A budget is a great kick-starter for creativity!
    Thank you for popping by my place!
    Kerry from housetalkn.blogspot.com

  3. September 29, 2011 3:12 pm

    I really can relate with what your saying…and you are so write about what taking action on the things you can control can do.
    Im glad that you ve find a way to do something creative, it sounds like a great project, I will be following it(;

    Have a lovely day!(:

    Carmila Ponycat

  4. October 1, 2011 1:53 pm

    We moved into our current house 2 years ago and the entry way is hideous! I have managed to clear out the boxes and get rid of most of the dust, but my husband’s gigantic (very functional and not at all pretty) desk sits just to the side of the entryway! I have wondered if I can somehow cover it up. In reality, I’ll probably just have to wait until we can finish our basement (probably in the year 2050 at the rate we’re going now!!!) before we can move that desk. But I am excited to see your upcoming posts for ideas on things I can do in the meantime.

    I 100% agree that action is the antidote to despair. In fact after reading that little gem here, I posted the quote on my desk :)

    • October 2, 2011 9:12 pm

      We’ve been in our house for 3 years now, so you have time. :) I know what you mean by waiting for things to be completed before you can make something the way you want – ugh! I dohope you’ll be inspired to do some tweaking so your entry will feel like a happier place to you. And I am so glad you liked the quote!

  5. October 1, 2011 4:22 pm

    Thanks for introducing me to this challenge — I’ll be doing my own, too! Can’t wait to see what you do!

    • October 2, 2011 9:37 pm

      Looking forward to following your series Lisa!

  6. October 1, 2011 10:22 pm

    Looking forward to reading your series. I’m a fellow 31 day Blogger, blogging about 31 Days of Autumn Inspiration. Can’t wait to see what you do!

  7. October 3, 2011 8:12 pm

    Did you read my mind? Can’t wait to follow your series – and my neighbors will be thankful as well – really! So happy to have found you through Nester’s 31 Days.

    xoxo michele

  8. best edu service permalink
    December 18, 2012 10:14 am

    Hi, I think your website might be having browser
    compatibility issues. When I look at your blog in Safari, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer,
    it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads
    up! Other then that, superb blog!

  9. October 7, 2013 1:43 am

    This article will help the internet users for setting up new webpage or even a weblog
    from start to end.

  10. October 18, 2016 1:44 am

    What’s more, the cost enhance in rubber sheet has stimulated the tapping manufacturing.
    Cafe Leopard Loafer notably incorporates an artisanal bit buckle that has resin detail emblazoned in the center.
    A backup plan, if you will, and also a protection against moisture build up.

Trackbacks

  1. Across Europe in 31 Days

Leave a Reply

