Skip to content

Grape Stomp 2011

September 27, 2011

Little did we know when we signed up for our first grape stomp three years ago that we’d be starting a tradition.

Last Saturday, it was time for the annual grape stomp at Harbour Estates Winery in Jordan (close to Niagara Falls, where I live), which is is a fundraiser for United Way. My co-worker and friend Marco and I had been talking about this for months leading up to it – it honestly is just such a fun day and something we look forward to!

It was great to see that a lot of people came out this year. The weather was perfect, and there were about 80 teams competing against each other. I noticed today that the people at United Way tweeted that $7,705.00 was raised ! And apparently this was almost 3x more than 2010! Woohoo!

The winery that it’s held at is so beautifully located at a lake. In order to get to the area where the stomp takes place drive on a little sand road past the vineyard to the back where there is an open area. When you’re there, you can see peeks of the lake through a row of trees, and you can even follow a trail down to the lake as we discovered this time. It’s so peaceful and pretty. (Can you tell I love this place??)

Here’s us pre-stomp, all clean and dressed for the occasion.

Our team name for the last two years has been Stomp Yo Face. Grape stomps are a great time for getting in touch with your gangster side. Um, yeah, Marco pulls it off better than I do. Oh well. We had decorated our T-shirts the day before, so much fun!
Harbour Estates Winery, Jordan

And this is what it’s all about. It’s an intense few minutes of stomping, and trying to get as much juice to flow out of the small hole into the bucket as possible. Hard to explain why, but it’s just SO. MUCH. FUN.
Harbour Estates Winery, Jordan

And afterwards, you look like this and you’re all itchy but smiling.

Harbour Estates Winery, Jordan

Except for this was only after stomping once and we ended up stomping four times. We made it all the way to the top and won!! We also set a new record by getting almost 10 liters of juice at the very last round. To compare, the team that came in second did a little over 3 liters of juice.

I was proud of us. So very impressed with Marco’s stomping abilities.

Unfortunately my camera died and so I have no photos of us getting progressively more juice-covered and eventually accepting the Purple Foot Award. Yes, there is a Purple Foot Award and it will have our names on it!

In case you’re still curious about what the heck a grape stomp looks like, here’s a video of the one we were at. We’re not actually in the video, but it gives a good idea of the fun atmosphere!

I am so blessed to have co-workers that I genuinely enjoy spending time with. I also really love participating in a community event – it makes me feel happy to do something that will impact people positively beyond the day itself.

Do you have any community events in your area that you enjoy participating in?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2011 12:40 am

    lol…looks like so much fun! ;) thanks so much for visiting me and leaving a comment! :)

  2. September 28, 2011 8:40 am

    K so this is seriously cool. I’m a big fan of wine and love learning about it and traditions like this, so I’ve always wanted to grape stomp! Congrats on winning! I hope you got a trophy or something wicked cool. : )

  3. September 28, 2011 8:45 am

    ps. I worked at Starbucks for years and years! Somedays I thought I might murder mankind, but other days I remembered that whether or not it feels like it’s working, I am a light and the salt of the earth. I bet you are a huge blessing to people even when it doesn’t feel like it! So on those awful days, remember someone is praying for you and has been there. : )

    • September 29, 2011 6:44 pm

      Thank you Jessica! I so appreciate that, how fun that you’ve worked at Starbucks too! Yep, those days where you think you might murder mankind…I can relate! Haha! But it’s also a great opportunity to love people…thanks for the prayer. :)

  4. September 28, 2011 9:26 am

    That looks like fun, and a great way to let off steam! Congrats on your win as well! And a big thanks for your sweet comment and stopping by. You have a lovely blog, tami

  5. September 28, 2011 11:01 am

    Oh my, you made me laugh so much at this post. What an amazing fundraiser, I understand that everybody had a lot of fun.
    Congratulations on winning the first prize, you look so cute in your juicy tee shirt!

  6. September 28, 2011 7:56 pm

    Wow looks like so much fun ! I love the photo of you two covered in grape juice ! Thanks for sharing, xoxo Cheryl

Leave a Reply

