Skip to content

House Thinking & Canopy Beds

September 20, 2011

I have beds on my mind. Maybe it has something to do with feeling tired and just wishing I could stay in bed for a whole day…Yesterday, I chose to do laundry instead of write a blog post – because I had limited time and energy, it was one or the other. (Usually when that’s the case, I choose blogging.) Yes, the state of our laundry was really that bad. But we have clean socks & underwear now, so we’re good. Back to pretty pictures!

I really want to curl up in one of these canopy beds. I am reading an awesome book called House Thinking, which is about the psychological effect that our homes have on us. One of the big takeaways of the book is to constantly think about how our house makes us feel, and how decorating decisions alter the way we feel in a space, rather than just focusing on how it looks. Fascinating stuff. I love to learn the particulars of putting a room together, but this book feeds the part of me that always wants to know the why behind things and is such a great reminder that decorating is not a shallow occupation. Your space affects how you feel, which affects your life.

Back to beds. I realized how much I like to feel enveloped when I am in bed. However, our master bedroom is the most spacious room in the house and it has the highest ceilings, so I feel it needs something to make it a bit more of a cozy space within the larger room. When I was little, I had a bed with a mosquito net. Best thing ever. So, this brought me to thinking about canopy beds.

These two are beautiful:


{Bed by Asli Tunca, via Patricia Gray}


{Decorpad}
I love the white one, but I think I’d want to drape fabric over it like in the first photo to make it more cozy.

What I envision for our bedroom is more something like this though. It’s a budget-friendly and pretty way to add a canopy. This one was made by Lauren Liess from Pure Style Home, she made it from canvas drop cloth and her and her husband stenciled the pattern on it themselves. Amazing!

{Pure Style Home}

This is another one of the takeaways from House Thinking: Decorating your home doesn’t have to be expensive to make it effective. The most important thing is that you know how you want to feel in a space and how you want to live in it. Then you can figure out creative solutions to get the results you’re looking for.

So simple, yet surprisingly easy to overlook.

I hope your week has started off well so far!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2011 2:28 am

    I read with interest what you wrote about House Thinking. I lived for 20 years in a house that belonged to my husband’s family, where I was never allowed to feel welcome. ‘It is not your house’ they told me at the beginnig, so I always felt like an unwelcome guest. This had heavy psycological repercussions also on my marriage.
    Now I am living in a flat where I feel ‘at home’, such a nice feeling, no wonder I feel happy most of the time! The place where I live is very important for my psycological balance, thanks for your thoughts about it.

  2. September 21, 2011 10:37 am

    I couldn’t agree more…there really is an important factor in making your home your own and really a place you love to be! Those beds would definitely not be a good addition to my house because I would be inclined to stay in it…A LOT! (c:

  3. willotoons permalink
    September 26, 2011 4:57 pm

    I want that beautiful orange branch canopy bed! How pretty!! Reminds me of coral.

    • September 27, 2011 11:32 pm

      Willo, thanks for popping over and taking the time to leave a comment! That bed really is so pretty, it makes me think of coral too – actually it wasn’t until after your comment that I really noticed it wasn’t.

Leave a Reply

