Skip to content

Seasons

September 2, 2011
tags:

Over the last little while, I’ve been thinking about time. I’ve felt like too much of my time has been taken up with things I don’t necessary find a lot of fulfillment in (my day job) and I haven’t had much time & energy to spend on the things I care about. I have been a bit frustrated because I wanted to be further along with my course work by now. I also wanted to be further along with starting my business, or looking for opportunities to intern. However, I haven’t even had time or energy to spend on course work or practice consultations (sorry, Catherine!) the last few weeks…

But I when I look around me I see the seasons changing. At this moment, even though it’s hot outside right now, there are signs that the seasons are transitioning. I love that feeling of hot summer settling down into gentler, cozy fall. I look at my tomatoes and I realize again that I planted them too late in the year and that I hope for lots of sun in September so the ones that are green on the vine will ripen before it gets too cold.

And I realize again that “There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under heaven.” (Ecclesiastes 3:1) Some things don’t happen until they’re ready to happen. My tomatoes won’t ripen faster because I want them to. I won’t have extra time or energy while I’m working a bit extra over these couple of weeks. And I’m trying to simply take in the goodness of this particular season, even this particular week, and be honest about the hard parts. Just to be present (always easier said than done, right?).

So, I decided to look at the seasons of my life at this particular moment. It’s really helping me to cope with some of transitions and challenges we’re facing:

Sooo last season (haha): Having lots of time together as a couple. Not having to clean the kitchen (me) because someone else (Ben) took care of it. Waiting to hear if the business loan for the store Ben is opening with his business partner Chris would be approved. Waiting to hear news about possible arrival of my sister’s baby. Slowly working away on my course work and first consultation.

This season: Not seeing much of each other because we’re both working lots of hours (I’ve been picking up extra hours at work), often at opposite times of the day. A messier kitchen. Lots of preparation stuff and purchases on Ben’s side, getting stuff done before their opening date of September 19 (exciting!). Enjoying getting to see my nephew, little Alexander, on Skype and receiving photos of him in my e-mail. Feeling guilty/frustrated because I haven’t spend much time on course work or consultations.

Coming up: Finding our new rhythm again as a couple when the store opens. Getting to see how the store does. Watching Alexander grow and hopefully getting to hold him in person. Back to normal work hours for me and working on course work & consultations. I’m also planning a mini-makeover of our entry way, which I’m excited about.

Phew, that was long. If you’ve made it all the way to the end of this post, thanks for listening! :) I’ll be back to posting more interior inspiration soon.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2011 3:30 am

    That is a lovely post, seasons and taking the time to enjoy the little moments of every day is something we could all appreciate more often.

  2. September 3, 2011 11:07 am

    Oh, I love this post, I love when you talk about yourself and your feelings.
    Sometimes we want to change things, do something new, go forward but for one reason or the other we don’t.
    Later, looking back, we realised that we were not being lazy but that it wasn’t the right time, we really weren’t ready.
    Seems to me, though, that you are ready to move on!

  3. September 3, 2011 5:58 pm

    yes, I have to remind myself that there is a season for everything…
    wishing you much prosperity and happiness in this next season! xo

  4. October 21, 2013 4:05 am

    My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find a lot of your post’s to be what precisely I’m looking for.
    Does one offer guest writers to write content for yourself?
    I wouldn’t mind writing a post or elaborating on a lot of the subjects you write
    with regards to here. Again, awesome blog!

  5. November 7, 2013 6:19 pm

    For hottest information you have to pay
    a quick visit world-wide-web and on web I found this site as a
    best site for most recent updates.

  6. December 5, 2013 5:10 am

    Hello my family member! I want to say that this
    article is amazing, nice written and include approximately all vital infos.

    I’d like to look extra posts like this .

Leave a Reply

