Skip to content

An Exciting Week

August 25, 2011

A little over 6 months ago, I wrote a post on what was going on in our lives at that moment. Ben was working on his business plan and I was working on my interior decorating course (which I still am) and I wrote to remember this: Every time we put effort into something that’s worthwhile to us is a moment well-spent. And I still need to remember that. Just in the last week, we’ve seen one of the fruits of our labor (Ben’s) and patience (both Ben’s and mine), which is very exciting! But I’ll get to that later. First, something even more important:

My nephew Alexander Michael Siegling was born last week, on Tuesday August 16. What an incredibly special thing to experience! My sister and I are very close and while we were many miles apart when she was giving birth (she lives in California, as you might remember), my heart & mind were caught up in the event to a degree that I hadn’t quite anticipated. I found myself constantly thinking about her & the baby; Praying and walking around with heightened emotions all the time. I broke down crying once while she was in labor and I hadn’t heard anything from them for hours. And it was a full-out cry, which I only save for very special occasions and which always surprises me when it happens. (It was nice to have Ben with me so I could cry on his shoulder.) And then there were more tears the moment I got the e-mail that told me Alexander was born and both mother and son were doing well. Such a joyful moment.

Big sister Shiloh adores him.

I can’t wait to meet this little guy! I hope to visit them next month, and my arms are longing for the moment that I will actually hold him.

Then, later in the week, Ben and I were able to breathe a big sigh of relief when we heard the final decision on the business loan he had applied for months ago: They were approved! I won’t go into all the details of how the process turned into much longer than it was meant to be and how stressful it was, but I am only being a little bit dramatic when I say it has also felt like a delivery of sorts.

But now, Ben and his business partner are finally able to move forward and soon their store will become a reality. It still feels a bit unreal, soon The Basement will be open to serve the video-gaming needs (wants) of Niagara Falls.

The process of waiting has been good for us though. There is such an excitement in making a choice to take a risk together and having Ben home more the last few months meant we’ve shared more together, from household chores to intimate conversations. Ben also took up baking and has been getting more comfortable in the kitchen, which has been a lot of fun. The next few months, we’ll see a lot less of each other because both Ben and his business partner Chris will be at the store 12 hours a day for six days a week until they’ll be able to hire someone. Yikes. I guess nobody said that going after your dreams is easy, right? There’s always a give and take, but having a sense of purpose about what you’re doing trumps a lot in my opinion. We’ll see where it will take us.

For now, I can say that I feel so blessed to be an auntie and to watch my husband start a business. I’ll talk more about what I’ve been up to soon.

Linking up with:

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2011 7:15 pm

    Congratulations to you both!!

  2. August 25, 2011 8:05 pm

    wow! good stuff all around! congratulations my friend! xo nat

  3. August 27, 2011 5:24 pm

    This is such a happy post! Congrats on having a new nephew- he’s so precious! Also congrats on the loan for your husband’s new adventure! I’m sure it’s a relief to see the fruits all of the labor put into his business dreams. And What a creative job! :)

  4. August 28, 2011 3:13 pm

    I’m just catching up on all this now – Jadyn, this is so exciting!!! Congratulations to you and your sister on little Alexander. I can relate to the anticipation – I am always filled with that immensely intense feeling when friends have been in labour.

    And YAHOO on Ben’s loan coming through! What a relief! So many exciting things!!!!

  5. August 28, 2011 5:47 pm

    What a beautiful baby Alexander is! Just perfect. I’m so glad you and your hubby have had extra time together in preparation for this business venture. Best wishes to you both on this.
    Blessings,
    Marcia

  6. August 28, 2011 7:05 pm

    Congratulations all around!! Welcome to the little one and best wishes to you and Ben on the business adventure!!

  7. August 29, 2011 3:55 am

    It is so nice when a baby is born into a family. Recently a friend of mine had her first grandchild, and it was quite moving for me too. Your Alexander looks very sweet, I like the name, I have an Alexandre myself! I am in LA in October, will I see you there?
    And many, many congratulations for the business: your efforts have received the due consideration.

  8. August 29, 2011 4:24 pm

    so much exciting news!!! for the loan approval and that cute, cute, CUTE little boy! congrats on it all!

  9. August 29, 2011 8:15 pm

    How exciting! All of it is exciting. Congratulations.

  10. September 3, 2011 10:17 pm

    What an exciting time for both of you. Congrats! Thanks for sharing at BC Good Life Wednesdays.

Leave a Reply

