Skip to content

Ideas from Ivy & Piper

August 11, 2011

No baby news as of yet, but in the meantime the show (aka my life) must go on…Last night, I perused the latest issue of Ivy & Piper and really liked the range of styles they incorporate in the magazine. Here are some of my favorite images from this issue and ideas that I took from them.

I enjoyed the article called Urban Vintage, it shows the home of Lucy Glade-Wright, owner of Australian on-line boutique Hunting for George.

Idea: Piles of books in an unused fire place. Also: The use of a garden gnome inside (garden gnomes remind me of the movie Amelie) and a giant letter leaning against a wall.

Idea: Leaning art against a wall on the floor. Why hang it all if it looks good standing on the floor? Also: The use of a road sign as wall art. We have a STOP-sign leaning against the wall in our entry, courtesy from the previous owners and I’ve been debating whether I like it. I think I’ll keep it…

I also really enjoyed the articlecalled LA Glam – House of Honey. It showcases the work of Tamara Kay of House of Honey. The house is a mixture of vintage elegance and modern sensibilities. I liked the use of light and dark throughout the house.

Idea: Using a neutral fabric for upholstering a sofa on the inside and a pattern on the outside, and painting the wood to go with the color of the pattern. Also: One solid colored dark wall and a pattern on another.

Idea: Charcoal wall + geometric golden accent fabric + white vintage furniture. Also: A bust as decoration adds classic elegance.

Idea: Use a large stencil on a wall in an area with high ceilings to add elegant definition. Also: Use a lucite or glass (?) table in an already large room for an even more spacious feel.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2011 11:28 pm

    Really love that fireplace! I also love the idea of leaning art against the wall — so perfectly casual. Plus, I hate hanging things anyways.

  2. August 12, 2011 10:02 am

    Hi! I love the white vintage furniture! I’m a big fan. And the stacked books are a neat, simple touch to the room.

  3. August 13, 2011 1:04 pm

    Hi!

    I love stencils they are really great (for many things) and I like the idea of leaning art agaist the wall instead of hanging it. Lovely <3

    I really like your blog is very nice and clean. Pretty pretty.

    Hope you re having a wondeful weekend full of good news and chocolate cookies(;

    Carmila Ponycat (pony-cat.blogspiot.com)

  4. August 13, 2011 8:13 pm

    I love the idea of using road signs as wall art. We are really into cars and I think that would be a nice tie in for that interest. Thanks for the idea :)

Leave a Reply

