Skip to content

These Pictures Tell a Few Tales

July 29, 2011

The title of this post is a blatant rip-off of this post by Leigh-Ann from The Freckled Nest. I liked her idea of posting a photo (or a few in my case) and sharing a few of the tales surrounding it. So, here we go:

1. We finally hung these prints of Amsterdam on the wall. Hanging them took all of 10 minutes, but it took us months to get around to it.

2. They are hung slightly high and to the right because we want to hang curtains on the window (which will stick out to the right) and a place large plant on the floor underneath. I’m crossing my fingers and hoping it will look okay once those are in place.

3. We still need lamp shades to dress up the bare bulbs on the table lamp.

1. I love my tape measure.

2. It comes in handy when hanging pictures. We spaced them 3″ apart, in case you’re wondering (because I always wonder about these things).

3. Even though I like to say “we” hung prints, it really was all Ben.

1. Maybe I should have tried harder to get this photo without as much glare.

2. This is a print of a drawing of the building (that little tower shaped building) where we held the party for our wedding, so it is extra special to me.

3. I got those frames on sale at Michael’s and the mats too. I love how the narrow black line on the inside of the mat looks with the print.

1. After hanging prints, Ben and I made fried chicken. (It turned out delicious.)

2. I am intimidated by hot oil, so I decided to put on protective gear. I grabbed this apron that my parents bought Ben for his birthday a few years back (it’s a man apron). Judging by the fact that it was bought in The Netherlands and the fact that it looks like a dress on me, I’d say it was probably designed for tall Dutch men.

3. Ben is only slightly taller than me, so the apron looks rather large on him too. Unfortunately, I have no photographic evidence of this.

The End :)

Wishing you a great weekend!

Leigh-Ann encouraged people on her blog to do a similar post, which is why I didn’t feel so bad for copying her idea so blatantly. If you’d like to do the same, do let me know, I’d love to check it out!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2011 12:54 am

    Love the “man apron” :) and all the other tales!

  2. July 30, 2011 3:45 pm

    Lovely stories! Thanks for joining in :)

  3. July 30, 2011 3:47 pm

    Lovely simple idea to tell the story behind some pictures ;) I am pretty sure next time I pass by the building I will think …here’s where jadyn had her wedding party!
    PS you are looking lief in the tall apron ;P

    Happy weekend to you!

  4. July 30, 2011 5:36 pm

    Lovely stories! Especially love the “man apron” it actually makes an adorable dress.

  5. July 31, 2011 10:46 pm

    1. So happy you stopped by.
    2. The food coloring incident still haunts me. I swear a week later I have blue finger tips.
    3. I have so many thing to hang on my walls so I can totally relate. Your prints turned out lovely.
    4. Your Dutchmen apron is too funny.
    5. I am very afraid of hot oil too and have never fried chicken. Ever. And I live in the South (US). I am pretty sure that is against the rules of being Southern.
    6. Sorry my comment turned into a book :)

Leave a Reply

