Skip to content

Evian Bottles

July 28, 2011

I looove Nigella Lawson. When I was 19, I bought her book How to Eat and I’ve been hooked on her recipes (and her writing!) ever since.

However, when I saw this photo of her the other day, it wasn’t just the lovely Nigella herself that caught my eye, but also one of the bottles that she has oil in. It’s easy to miss because it’s hiding behind another bottle, so I added some helpful graphics. :)

The reason for my excitement? Well, I love that bottle.

Evian (water) bottles come in all kinds of designs and a couple of years back I fell in love with a bottle design that Christian Lacroix did for the Christmas edition. It’s a really pretty lacy design. I envisioned how nice it would look to have them dotted throughout the house with flowers in them, but they were going for about $6 a bottle. Which I felt that was just a bit too much to pay for a bottle of water. I did buy one when they went on sale for like half price right after Christmas.

Apparently, I wasn’t the only one who felt that $6 was too much to fork over for a liter of water, though, and sometime after Christmas cases of it were for sale at Winner’s. I believe I paid about $12 for a case. I felt weirdly giddy about my find!

Anyway, I do use them for flowers, still to this day. Recently, I put some daisies in three bottles and they brighten up a corner in our dining room.

On a shelf in our bathroom, I put starfish in three bottles that I bought at a market in Amsterdam and they make a pretty display:

I’ve never really shared this with anyone except Ben because I felt a bit weird about my obsession with these bottles.

So, this is what the photo of Nigella (and the bottle!) said to me. It said: Jadyn, you’re more normal than than you think. Or at least, not the only crazy person who loves this bottle enough to re-purpose it. :)

Either way, knowing myself and how when I really love something, I will love it for years to come, I’ll probably use my little collection of Evian bottles for a long time. I think they’ll look really nice grouped on a table with a bouquet of flowers divided between a few of them and flowers in others. Or maybe I’ll buy a spout and put oil in one of them and use it in my kitchen. Hey, if works for Nigella, it certainly works for me!

Ps. I also would just like to say that if you find yourself with any slightly weird (but innocent and aesthetically pleasing) obsessions, don’t fight it, just go with it. Especially if it will make you smile for years to come. You might be more normal than you think.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2011 12:10 pm

    Ummm…count me in on this! Those things are beautiful. Can you still find them anywhere? And I have actually saved really cool glass bottles before, so you’re not alone.

    • July 29, 2011 1:02 pm

      They do sell them on ebay, they go for about $6 a bottle…I don’t know if Evian still commissions designers to do a Christmas bottle, but it would be cool if they do new ones this year!

  2. July 28, 2011 3:41 pm

    I’ve seen people do really interesting things with plastic soda/water/whatever bottles. And someone once said normal is only a setting on a dryer…

  3. July 28, 2011 4:40 pm

    Could it be that Nigella copied from you the use of those bottles??

  4. July 28, 2011 5:16 pm

    What a great way to re-purpose these lovely bottles. Love!

Leave a Reply

