Skip to content

Amsterdam & Monnickendam

July 21, 2011

I’m sorry, I can’t resist sharing some more photos of my Dutch adventures. Hold on, it’s going to be a bit of a long one.

My dad and I wandered around Amsterdam and had take-out Indonesian outside on a bench on a square. Amsterdam is a great city to wander around in & a great city to have outside dinners on benches.

We took some silly photos with ‘Het Lieverdje’, the statue of an Amsterdam boy made to symbolize a typical mischievous but big-hearted Amsterdam boy. The photo of my dad cracks me up every time I see it.

We walked by the American Book Center and I admired the window display made by Holly Becker from decor8, who was in town for a blogger meet-up the previous week (sad I missed that) and also promoting her book Decorate. (It’s gorgeous, I flipped through it and it’s on my wish list.)

I love what she did with paper garlands and book pages.

As always, I couldn’t keep my eyes off of the architecture and details like these windows, I love the tear drop shape.

These are gorgeous too. I love the heart shape on the left, and the one on the right looks like a tulip to me (at least at the top). So pretty.

We went to the organic farmer’s market on the Noordermarkt (the farmer’s market is there on Saturdays only). I love all the house boats in the canal that you see when walking up to it.

This store, De Weldaad, was so much fun to browse around in.

Chandeliers! Be still my heart…Love the bust on the table below too.

One of the pleasures of wandering around in Amsterdam are the street musicians. My dad and I sat down to enjoy this guy’s performance along with others who had stopped too.

One on my last days in Holland, we went visited Monnickendam, a small town with oodles of charm.

I love the shape of the homes and I really liked the brick patterns on this one (chevron!). It kind of looks like a basket weave at the bottom.

Many homes in Monnickendam have names, some have tiles built into the bricks with the name and a graphic on it. This one has a wooden sign above the door, something about the shape of it and the ship spoke to me.

I also like the little drawbridges and had to pose on one with my mom.

I hope you enjoyed the little tour of Amsterdam & Monnickendam. :) Have you been anywhere/seen anything that’s inspired you to look a little closer lately?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2011 2:03 am

    Oh, I do love these pictures. It has been so long since I was in Amsterdam last time, I think that I should plan a visit.
    Your Dad’s picture makes me smile as well.

  2. July 23, 2011 9:55 am

    What a lovely trip you had jadyn! I love the photos of you and your dad and those canals are absolutely gorgeous! Can I come next time?!?
    Have a great rest of the weekend, xo nat

  3. July 24, 2011 10:37 am

    Love those pictures Jadyn! I really do hope I get a chance to go there at least once in my life!

  4. March 13, 2012 9:27 pm

    Great photos!

Leave a Reply

