Skip to content

Surprise Appearance

July 15, 2011

Earlier this week, I promised to tell the story of my secret mission and how I surprised my cousin by coming to her wedding. Well, it’s the end of the week and I’m making good on that promise…

Here is the lovely couple, my cousin Rebekka and her husband (here still her fiance) Wouter:

Minutes before this photo was taken, I had entered the restaurant with butterflies in my stomach. It’s one of the moments in my life that I’ll never forget. You know those times where all your senses are heightened from the emotions and anticipation of the occasion? It was one of those.

Months before this day, I had received an e-mail from Wouter asking me if I would be able to make the time to attend their wedding in Holland. Knowing that I couldn’t afford to buy two tickets to Holland in one year (with my sister getting married in April and Rebekka in July), he offered to pay for my ticket so that I could be there for the wedding of my cousin who is very dear to me. Wouter asked me to keep it secret so it would be a surprise for her.

It was so hard not to tell her I was coming!

But I managed, and so it was that shortly after Wouter and Rebekka got to the restaurant and sat down at their table, I walked in and Rebekka and I said hello in a teary embrace.

Wouter had picked an amazing restaurant for this special occasion. It’s called De Smuiger and it’s a historical building in the area I’ve grown up in, restored and renovated by the current owners to reflect a sense of history combined with modern style.

We had such a great meal together. I felt just so blessed to be a part of this and to get to spend time with two special people who make a special couple.

I love this photo of them that I was able to snap just after they arrived at the city hall location where they would be married. (In Holland, the bride and groom generally meet up at the bride’s house and then get married in a civil ceremony first and then in church after.)

And this is at the party, shortly after I sang a song for them.

This photo really shows Rebekka’s gorgeous dress.

I feel so blessed to have been able to celebrate the weddings of two people that are extremely important to me this year, first my sister and now my cousin!

Have a great weekend!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2011 11:57 pm

    How fun! Such a cute couple.

  2. July 23, 2011 1:51 am

    You described very well the feeling of ‘butterflies in the stomach’; sometimes it happens also in not so happy occasions!
    I love this story, it seems that it was a great moment for all of you.

Leave a Reply

