Skip to content

My Parents’ Home

July 12, 2011

Last week, I flew to Holland on a secret mission. I went to my cousin’s wedding and she didn’t know I was coming! More of the story later this week.

I got back yesterday and I am still pretty jet-lagged. I found myself much more awake than I wanted to be at 2AM, which was 8AM Dutch time. Oh well…that’s just how it goes. I’ll go to bed early tonight and let my body sort itself out.

I usually think that I’ll blog while away, but as soon as I get to my destination I realize that it’s very important to me to just be present and spend all of my time with people I don’t get to see much. I do love sharing my travels with you after the fact and I thought I’d start today with sharing some photos of my parent’s home.

This is not the house I grew up in, because my parents moved shortly after Ben and I emigrated to Canada. However, I love their house and I feel at home when I’m there.

My mom likes warm woods and together with the warm color of the floor tiles, their house has a warm feel. The white walls, curtains and sofa keep it feeling airy. It also has lots of windows and it’s spacious, so it feels light even when the sky is cloudy. This is nice in a country that gets a lot of rain!

I really like this little vignette here. The chair is from my grandmother’s house, such a cute mid-century modern piece. The painting is also from my grandmother’s house and it’s going to be coming home with me at some point. Unfortunately, it didn’t fit in my suitcase and I didn’t give myself enough time to wrap it up properly so I could check it in as luggage. Oh well, next time…That lantern is pretty great too, isn’t it?

I changed the settings on my camera here, not realizing that it made the light a lot more yellow. Ah, I guess it will have to do… I wanted to show the lamp above the coffee table, it’s from IKEA and my mom added the crystals to it. They also painted the coffee table white. They found it by the road and my dad just wanted to use it as a temporary work bench. My mom saw its potential and now it lives on in their living room.

This is their dining area. I love the chandelier and that orchid.

They’ve had that bookcase since I was little. It’s stuffed rather full of books, I don’t get my love for books from a stranger! The handsome guy on the sofa is my dad.

I hope my mom won’t mind me posting this, but even though she has her eyes closed, I think this is a cute photo of my parents!

I hope you had a great week and that this week is going well for you so far!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2011 9:43 pm

    Oh my goodness, most beautiful chandelier ever! What a lovely home. I love all the white, and have major Europe envy right now :) And how wonderful to have such beauties of your grandma’s waiting for you!

  2. July 13, 2011 1:30 am

    I like the enomous windows and the quantity of light that gets in. also considering that in these days of horrible heat we live in the dark with the shutters closed.
    The picture of your parents is lovely, they look so relaxed with each other.

  3. July 13, 2011 8:45 am

    I love the timelessness of her style. It gives me so many ideas! Thanks.

  4. July 13, 2011 1:33 pm

    Thanks for taking us *home* with you! What a treat for my very first visit to your blog!

    I love the coffee mugs on the table in front of your parents. Looks as if they express their style in everything!

  5. July 13, 2011 9:25 pm

    So sweet. Welcome back. Also, I am thinking you inherited a love of chandeliers :)

  6. July 14, 2011 4:34 pm

    You look a lot like your Dad! Love the simplicity of their decorating style, I can see how you feel so at home there. My favorite is the dining room table with the mix matched chairs, just classic casual styling, love it! Hope your jet lag is getting better.

  7. July 15, 2011 6:35 am

    It is such a lovely home. The pics of your parents are so sweet. Thanks for dropping by and sharing at Beach Cottage Good Life Wednesdays.

Leave a Reply

