Skip to content

David Eustace’s Tribute to the Highlands

June 30, 2011

Have you ever looked at the Anthropologist? It’s an on-line space created by the people of Anthropologie where they showcase the work of different artists. I love how they describe their mission:

Our premise is simple: we expose those who move us in order to move you, knowing that sharing creativity in turn kindles it.

Sharing creativity in turn kindles it. I love that. It’s one of the main reasons I love to read blogs and to do this crazy blogging thing myself.

Anyway, I signed up for their updates recently and the latest artist they highlighted is David Eustace. He hails from Scotland and chose to pay tribute to his land and ancestors by photographing the awe-inspiring beauty of its glens, hills and skies. The images that came from this are Breath. Taking.

In some ways, it reminds me of home. One of the things that I sometimes miss about The Netherlands are its skies. I don’t know if I have just gotten out of the habit of looking upwards much, but I just don’t think we get as many different clouds here in Niagara Falls, Canada. (I could very well be wrong about this though.)

As a little girl, I used to look up at the clouds so often and marvel at the light playing through them, their shapes and how they were constantly changing. I always wished that I could somehow capture that awe that I felt when looking up at this wide expanse of sky and the clouds. When I try to take photos of the sky, they never really show what I feel when I look at it.

These photos captivate me, because they show nature in a way that evokes emotion and reminds us that we’re only small human beings yet so, so blessed to be surrounded by this much beauty.

Consider my creativity kindled! What about yours? And what’s inspiring you at the moment?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2011 8:30 pm

    Wow, amazing photos. I know what you mean — there’s something about the skies of home. Texas doesn’t have nearly the same clouds. Not that I’d wish for the rain clouds of England all the time, but it is nice to see some dramatic grey clouds looming overhead sometimes!

  2. July 3, 2011 2:12 am

    Very interesting. I know Anthropologie and had no idea that they were supporting emerging artist. And what they say about sharing creativity is so true!

Leave a Reply

