Skip to content

Lovely Monday: Sixx Design

June 21, 2011

Do you ever have vivid dreams?

I do. The other day I had one that stayed with me all day…

Hold on, this might be one of the weirdest posts I’ve written. ;)

But first things first: Have you watched the show 9 by Design? I only recently watched a few episodes on-line and was completely intrigued. If you’ve never seen it, it’s a couple that work as interior designers & flip houses & do all of that while raising 7 children (their company is called Sixx Design). So, sort of like Jon & Kate plus 8 but with lots of interior eye candy. Their style is a mix of vintage & antique with really modern pieces and lots of art – I guess is how you could describe it.

These images from their West Village home are taken from a New York Social Diary article, photography is by Jeffrey Hirsch.

I really love the room of their twin girls:

Can you spot the Ikea pieces in this room? I love how they mix high & low:

So I had watched an episode just before going to bed and I dreamed that night that Ben and I went to see a loft in Amsterdam and decided on the spot to buy it. The floor in the loft was laminate and all the different planks were different colors, which I found quite fascinating.

This part was probably inspired by another photo I’ve seen recently:


{Image: Tham & Videgård Arkitekter}

But in my dream, the color from a distance looked purple while up-close you could see different colors. Quite an interesting effect! Also, in the kitchen, above the cabinets, the wall was covered with faux brick, and the “bricks” were pink and silver. I remember thinking in my dream that I was quite happy that some of the decorating had been done already!

And then I woke up and was kind of disappointed to realize we weren’t buying a loft in Amsterdam…but sort of relieved not to have to deal with colored laminate (no offense to the design in the above photo, I really do think it’s cool – just not something I’d personally want to live with) or pink and silver faux-brick walls.

THE END

Anyway, I somehow felt compelled to share this. It was my first design-related dream.

Have you ever had any?

Oh, and now that you know what goes on in my strange little mind, we can still be friends, right? ;) (Pretty please?)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2011 3:05 am

    It is not even that weird… haha buying a loft is a great idea .. and that floor could be thrown out ;)
    I sometimes dream about things I am thinking of a lot in the day time and then in the night I get the best ideas ;)

  2. June 21, 2011 11:12 am

    Baaahahaha! Love this! Keep dreaming, baby!

  3. June 21, 2011 7:03 pm

    I like where your head is at :)

  4. June 21, 2011 10:44 pm

    It’s ok, I design stuff in my dreams all the time. Guess that’s how we know we love what we do, right? LOVE the f-a-m-i-l-y lightboxes — so cool!

  5. June 23, 2011 12:00 pm

    IKEA pieces — Expedit bookcase, chair with holes in back, rug, desk. I love that game! What a beautiful house, especially the twin’s room.

  6. June 29, 2011 5:44 pm

    Dreams are funny things aren’t they? Always make perfect sense when you’re dreaming them, but when you wake up, they don’t :) Beautiful images though. I haven’t seen this show.
    Blessings,
    Marcia

Leave a Reply

