Skip to content

To Thine Own Self Be True

May 31, 2011

{Print by The Fabled Needle}

Yesterday was my birthday, I turned 29. As I am approaching the end of a decade, I can’t help but reflect. The thought of my life over the last 10 years has kept coming back to me over the last few days.

I don’t know exactly why, but it has been a big struggle for me over time to get to a place where I have a pretty healthy self & body image. I am far from perfect, but over time, I’ve started to understand, that this is okay. In fact, it is more than okay – it is part of being human. Living my life as an imperfect human including my flaws and accepting those of others is enough. I do always push myself to grow and learn, but because I love it and because I want to be more of who I am as well as be able to be more of a blessing to others, not (anymore) because I am trying to live up to some ideal version of me.

I believe that we were all created by a creative and loving Maker. We all have unique fingerprints and we are here to leave our unique imprint on the world.

A quote I came across recently and loved, was this one by Tori Amos. It’s along the lines of: Be yourself, everyone else is taken.

“There’s room for everybody on the planet to be creative and conscious if you are your own person. If you’re trying to be like somebody else, then there isn’t.”  ~ Tori Amos

For someone who spent a lot of my life comparing myself to others and feeling like I should somehow be different, unsure of how that should be but feeling certain that being myself was exactly the wrong thing to be, I still need this reminder from time to time.

For the next few days, in honor of my birthday, I am going to simply post a few quotes that I hope will be encouraging. I know that we all get knocked over the head constantly with messages of how we should be, in subtle and less subtle ways, be it by the media, our boss, our own thoughts etc.

I hope that you’ll enjoy being reminded of the fact that you are good enough just as you are along with me.

One more for the road today…

If you’re able to be yourself, then you have no competition.
All you have to do is get closer and closer to that essence.
~ Barbara Cook

Love,

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2011 2:57 pm

    Happy Birthday Jadyn! I love your thoughts here. I’m sure all of us feel the same way. Can’t wait to read your quotes and be inspired. Thanks for giving back to us on your big-day.

  2. May 31, 2011 9:36 pm

    Well i just happen to think you are perfectly sweet, beautiful, original, and wonderful just as you are! Happy belated Birthday Jadyn! keep celebrating all week! xo

  3. May 31, 2011 11:29 pm

    Happy birthday!!! What a wonderful way to celebrate!

  4. June 1, 2011 2:06 am

    I smiled with pleasure reading your post. I reached the same conclusion when I was well into my forties, what a waste of many years in which I could have lived a life of self acceptance and self confidence.
    I love your honesty and openness, very helpful tools along the way. I enjoy your posts when you speak of decoration but even more when you give a little hint of your true nature.
    Happy birthday, dear Jadyn!

  5. June 2, 2011 7:58 pm

    Happy Belated Birthday!!

Trackbacks

  1. I AM Focused on My Potential {Meditation Monday} | Flora Bloom Designs

Leave a Reply

