Skip to content

Our Garden: The Good, the Bad & the (very) Ugly.

May 26, 2011

I really wanted to get my bulletin board finished this week, to finally be able to use it. However, some weeks things don’t work out the way you want them to (sound familiar?) and and this was one of those. We did make it to Fabricland and I bought some muslin to cover the corkboard with.

This week, I’ve been spending some more time in our yard. I really am a newbie at gardening. Last year around this time I was taking a biology class. It was pretty demanding and I just had no energy left between that and work and I did the bare minimum in our yard – but I remember how much it frustrated me! This, year, I am making use of the fact that I do have time and make sure I get my hands into the dirt a bit more often and hopefully make it a little nicer.

I’ve been bringing in some of the outside to enjoy inside. I really love lilacs, they are such a pretty color and smell amazing.

I love having a little bouquet of Lily of the Valley on the dining table and catching whiffs of their lovely fragrance.

I’ve also sown some tomato seeds. I sowed some in an plastic strawberry container with lid (not shown in the photo, I got the idea from Caitidid Designs) and some in peat pots – a little experiment to see if there would be a difference. It both worked well, but I had to stay more on top with watering the ones in peat pots as they dried out pretty quickly. It’s fun to see the seeds germinate, once they poke out from the ground they grow so fast. One day they look like this:

The next, they look like this:

I have been enjoying our magenta tulips next to the steps to our entrance.

I really want to plant some more tulip bulbs this Fall! It’s such a nice surprise to see what they look like come Spring! I planted these last year and they have convinced me that I need to plant some more.

Here are the bad & the ugly all in one photo. It can be easy to just show the pretty stuff when blogging. I personally love looking at pretty things…However, I think I’d like to show some of the bad and ugly from time to time too, because that is just as much a part of my life and I enjoy the process of seeing something transform as well as sharing the process (even at times when there isn’t yet a process to speak of!).

So, well, here it is, the large patch of weeds next to our house. The dead weeds are from last year. My plan is to cover this part with cardboard too like I did with an area behind our house and put compost on top, and maybe next year plant something in it. We’ll see…

And back to something pretty. I quite like this little plant with heart-shaped flowers.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2011 11:14 am

    i discovered i love gardening this year! i made a vegetable garden & have been planting flowers. i haven’t had much luck with it, but i guess that’s only half of the point, it’s still fun to do:)

  2. May 27, 2011 1:21 pm

    Your heart-shaped flowers are Bleeding Hearts (if you didn’t already know!). I have one of those in my backyard too, and they are one of my faves! I’ve also got lilacs all over my house these days too! If you ever have any gardening q’s, just let me know! I was a total novice when we bought our house 4 years ago, but I’ve been learning as we go! I absolutely love being outside in my yard :)

  3. May 27, 2011 2:44 pm

    Beautiful, beautiful garden! What a wonderful way to freshen up your yard and then bring the loveliness into the house.

  4. June 4, 2011 4:36 am

    Lovely garden, beautiful flowers and great pics of them. Thanks for stopping by Beach Cottage Good Life Wednesdays and joing the party.

  5. June 7, 2011 6:02 pm

    I like the good the bad and the ugly, keeps it real. Happy belated Birthday, I can’t believe I missed it! I hope you had a lovely one. I keep thinking I am going to get gardening, and then I get caught up in something else and forget. I still want to plant some lettuce like I did last year, it was so fun to go pick fresh lettuce for a salad. Felt so healthy :) As far as liking your looks, let me tell you Jadyn, you are a beautiful girl, and you shouldn’t compare yourself with any other, because no two people are a like, not even a sibling. But one piece of advice I can give you since I am ALMOST old enough to be your mum, enjoy what you have now, it all goes south before you know it :) AT 40, you will look back at when you were 29, and say to yourself, what was I thinking, I looked awesome! Have a good week!

Leave a Reply

