Skip to content

Gardening & Dreaming

May 19, 2011

The lilac in our backyard is starting to bloom and I took a couple of photos. I love how lush this time of the year feels – the fresh green grass, the leaves on the trees and color popping up in yards everywhere.

It wasn’t all pretty in our backyard though and I pulled a lot of weeds. This is only a fraction of it, most of them were dead weeds from last year.

This year, I am planning to stay more on top of it and we’re trying out a method I researched on-line: Smothering them with cardboard. Apparently, this is approved for organic gardening, which I am trying to do. The ink on the boxes is non-toxic and breaks down, as do the boxes. You’re supposed to cover the boxes with compost and you can plant things by cutting a hole in the cardboard. I really hope this will keep the weeds in check so I won’t have to work as hard at keeping them under control! I’ll keep you posted!

Quite frankly, gardening intimidates me a bit. I just always feel like it’s such a big task and even though our yard is pretty small, I don’t really know where to start in making it the way I want it to be. So, I figured I’d start with the fun part, looking for inspiration.

I found myself really attracted to this image, I like the structure in it. Not that I’ll be trying to create something like this, for one thing ours is not quite that size, also I think pruning all those shrubs would be an extra full-time job! But still, this is really pretty.


{Source: MyHomeIdeas}

I really like this image too, which is Lauren Liess’ (from Pure Style Home) backyard. A few boxwood shrubs for structure combined with lavender and roses, this looks like something I could possibly do.


{Source: Lauren Liess, Pure Style Home}

I definitely want to plant lavender. I love lavender and it’s also easy to maintain, a big plus in my books.

{Source: Dreamstime}

I have bought some sees of a Poppy called Paeony Purple Passion, I need to sow them soon. I really hope they do well, because they’re supposed to end up looking something like this. So dreamy.

{Source: Alchemy Works}

I remember travelling through the French countryside on family vacations when I was little and looking out of the car window admiring the red geranium in window boxes everywhere. I decided that when I got older I’d plant red geraniums in my window box. I may not have the French house or countryside to go with it, but maybe it’s time to give it a try?

{Source: Robertson, Little Brown Pen}

Do you like to garden? Which plants go in your dream garden?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Littl' Sis permalink
    May 19, 2011 12:17 am

    A true rose garden..with delicious smelling roses and someone to prune them and take care of them:)

  2. May 19, 2011 8:08 am

    Oy yes! Butterfly Bush for sure. The dark purple blooms – maybe they are called Black Knight/Night. Lavender, Russian Sage… definitely into the purples :). Herbs and a Weeping Willow. This is a dream garden after all :)

    Your lilacs look lovely!

  3. May 19, 2011 10:33 am

    Love the Pure Style Home one — that could work for us! And yes, lavender is totally easy — we planted ours a few months ago and it’s still alive!!!

  4. May 19, 2011 10:40 am

    I love hydrangeas, lilacs, lavender and perennials in general. I like to fill in the spots where the perennials aren’t blooming yet with annuals. I’ve got a ways to go. I’ve been working on the front yard garden for a few years, now I’m going to work on the back yard. It needs a lot of work. I need to plant some things along the fence and around our patio/deck. I love the ideas in the picture! Tell me how the cardboard works, I may have to try it for next year!
    (I know marigolds are bug deterrents.)

  5. May 19, 2011 4:56 pm

    beautiful! i love I love the smell of Casablanca lilies, lilacs, lavender…lovely greetings

  6. May 20, 2011 1:57 am

    There was a time in which I had a garden and enjoyed many happy moments planning, planting, pruning and watching. It was a ‘family’ garden so there were some pretty plants but nothing spectacular. Recently I re-visited the garden at the Getty in LA and if I had a garden today I would try the combination of plants planned by artist Robert Irwin who designed the garden (I wrote a post about the Getty garden).
    Interesting the approach that an artist has when thinking of a garden.

Leave a Reply

