Skip to content

Lovely Monday: Layered Living Rooms

May 16, 2011

I do kind of love the beginning of a new week. Beginnings are fresh and I somehow feel like I’ve got a new chance to make this week count and create some fun things. This week, I am planning on making a trip to Fabricland to buy a piece of fabric for covering the piece of cork board that’s going into my painted frame to make a bulletin board. I’m also working on school work and am finally sending in some assignments that I’ve been wanting to get done.

Here are some images that I am choosing to start this week off with. I can never get enough of rooms like these, they just feel so inviting to me. They all have white walls, but are far from sterile thanks to the mix of old and new furniture, art work, objects, fabrics and plants or branches. It occurred to me that I love dressing in layers and it may be my love of layers that keeps me coming back to these kinds of rooms as well. To some people, this may be too much “stuff” in a room but to me they feel just right.

What do you think?

The mostly black and white pulls everything together here.

{Tommy Smythe Canadian House & Home, photography Michael Graydon}

I love the tufted ottoman and French sofa in combination with the grain sack pillows.

{Gardener & Marks}

The color of the exposed brick is echoed in the draperies and the trunk and floor make this white room feel grounded.

{Design and photography Lisa Madigan}

Something totally different: Every time I see that type of tree/plant in a photo I think about how much I love it. I need to find out what it’s called! I love the combination of warm wood and painted wood in this room.

{Grant K. Gibson}

Hope your week is off to a good start!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2011 1:20 am

    These rooms are beautiful, I like the warmth of old wood and the fabric in the first photo is amazing, it looks like magnified lace. I like layers, too, but my practical side makes me think: how difficult it would be to keep everything dusted! I have become too much of a housewife….

  2. ~V~ permalink
    May 17, 2011 5:54 pm

    I love the layered look too, but I struggle to get the kids’ toys in their bins, so I’m more of a minimalist for all practical purposes. You find some of the neatest inspiration photos! =)

  3. May 17, 2011 9:03 pm

    I usually dread Mondays, but I think I’ll try your outlook for a change — thanks!

    I too love the layered look — I love way too many different things that it would be impossible to pick a style and stick to it! I really love the mix and match of the first one.

  4. May 17, 2011 9:49 pm

    I dont know what it is with me and brick but for some reason I adore the look- it makes the room look just a little more edgy- makes me wanna splash some grafitti on it to give it a grunge look.

  5. May 19, 2011 7:49 pm

    I wake up everyday and think of it as a fresh start. Guess it must be my age, just happy to be waking up LOL I love that Juju hat in that one photo, I want one so bad! That tree kind of looks like a variety of the banana tree

Trackbacks

  1. On the bright side // Elembee

Leave a Reply

