Skip to content

Study Progress Report: Window Treatment Up

May 12, 2011

We finally hung the curtains in my study and it’s amazing what a difference it makes.

In case you wonder how to hang pleated curtains (like I did before I hung these), it’s actually quite easy. You buy these curtain pins and poke the pointy side in on the side of the lining, just make sure it doesn’t poke out on the other side (self-evident I suppose, but I did forget it and had to re-do it a few times) and make sure the top of the pin sits a bit underneath the top of the curtains.

Then, you slide the pins into curtain rings. Apparently, there are special curtain rings to use with curtain pins, but I couldn’t find those at Home Depot. I just pinched the clips off and slid the pins through the small ring instead – it was the most fiddly part of the process but worked like a charm. :)

And here’s the result. It’s really starting to feel more like a proper room now!

I’d like to get some tie- backs at some point too. I like these from Urban Outfitters:

{Urban Outfitters}

Or I do like the traditional look of these too, perhaps they are a bit more Marie Antoinette?

{Curtains & Curtains}

I am so glad we finally got around to tackling this simple project with big impact!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2011 3:00 pm

    This is really cool. I thought that the pleats had to be sewn in! Please tell me I am not the only one :)

  2. May 14, 2011 2:46 am

    I never saw those pins before, they seem pretty cool.
    Curtains add so much to a room, I was thinking this morning that now that the sun raises earlier I need curtains in the bedrooms: so much to do and so little time!

  3. Carl permalink
    October 22, 2011 11:36 am

    Thanks for the closeup of the pin inserted into the fabric. I was looking for designated spot. I assumed it would have to be inserted at bottom of the pinched folds because I could not find any other unique spots. I was worried that facing fabric itself would not be able to carry the load of the panel. But with more pins than I thought I needed, then it makes sense in that they distribute the load.

Leave a Reply

