Skip to content

Making Your TV Part of Your Decor

May 7, 2011
tags: ,

A little while ago, I got an e-mail from my friend Astrid who shared some of her decorating dilemmas. I thought it might be nice to dedicate a few blog posts to the questions she brought up. Here’s the first one:

I’m totally confused about what to do with our TV. I’m so scared of getting one of those overpowering media centres that won’t ever fit into another house we live in, but something with storage (and some height so that Tilly stops turning the darn DVD player on and off all day!) would be nice. I hardly ever see that sort of ‘area’ in decor show rooms… they usually pretend the people that live in all those beautiful lofts are so classy and superior that they don’t watch TV, I think!

I mulled this one over for a while, because to be honest, it’s one that’s got me stumped too. It’s true that TVs are not often shown in those gorgeous images of interiors that we all enjoy, so how are we supposed to know what to do with it? One thing I’ve noticed, after thinking it over, is that while it used to be the thing to hide the TV, it seems to become more and more acceptable to have it out in the open.

I turned my thoughts to our own home: Our big (too big for my liking!) flat-screen TV sits in our family room (we don’t have one in the living room), which is mostly Ben’s area. We’ll work on this area at some point, but it’s upstairs and we’re mostly focused on the ground floor in our house right now, so for the moment…it’s not exactly a space that I’m proud of. The TV sits atop a low console where the doors have been removed for easy access and it serves us well for now – mostly for Ben to play video games and for us to watch the occasional movie together.

So, I had to go looking for ideas and I found these images that I liked:

The first two photos have a similar idea: Dresser + TV + gallery wall. They both have a different vibe, though, so I thought I’d share both. Having a gallery wall surrounding the TV adds a lot of interest and makes it all blend together more.


{Source: Emily A. Clark}


{Source: Bryn Alexandra}

In the third photo, I like the open shelves. The vignette next to the TV, as well as the chairs on either side of the console add interest to the area.


{Source: A Beach Cottage}

I really like the dresser idea, also because it’s pretty flexible – if you get tired of the look you can quite easily change it around with new artwork and a different dresser. As for Astrid, it’s also a good way to make sure her little one doesn’t get her hands on the equipment.

Where do you have your TV?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2011 7:24 pm

    I love the gallery wall! I don’t have a flatscreen yet. We have a huge cabinet, but don’t really watch it since we only have Netflix =)

  2. May 7, 2011 9:18 pm

    Oh, wow, I love the first one, too. The gallery idea is so clever. Big plus points for the third one, too, as it uses an IKEA Expedit bookshelf that we already own!!! Thanks so much for looking into it for me, and shedding some light on this forgotten corner of the showroom. I’ll see what I can do with our space…

  3. May 7, 2011 11:06 pm

    Well, ours is housed in one of those huge media centers :-) It holds all of our dvd’s too, (the part I love) but it would be a job to move it. We have a flat screen in our bedroom too, and it sits on a dresser too small for it :-)
    Blessings,
    Marcia

  4. May 8, 2011 7:39 am

    Noone ever tackles this! We don’t have a flat screen yet… but one day we will and now I know exactly what I will do with it… a big old wooden trunk with a pretty vignette of glass bottles to the side (in all different shapes and sizes of one color… like old amethyst). Thanks Jadyn!

  5. May 9, 2011 1:13 am

    There isn’t much you can do to hide a tv, but at least they are slimmer now a days. The gallery wall always helps to take away from the black box, great post Jadyn!

  6. May 9, 2011 10:48 am

    the one with the pictures is quite good ;) In the VT Wonen of last month there was a great example of a wooden wall (met steigerhout.. vertel mij eens hoe je steigerhout in het engels zegt en steiger buis pleaseeeee ;))
    I can scan it in for you/her ;)

Trackbacks

  1. Making Your TV Part of Your Decor – 2 More Ideas « Dutch.British.Love

Leave a Reply

