Skip to content

Our Dining Room

May 5, 2011

While working on this post, I happened to look at an old post of mine, which was coincidentally an inspiration post for our dining room. Now that we’ve finally started working on it, it’s fun to look at what inspired me before! In the post I wrote that I wanted white walls, but we ended up going with gray. Kind of like one of the images I posted then:

Source: House to Home

Unfortunately, the rest of the room doesn’t look quite as good yet. Ben has vetoed the magenta chair legs, so that’s not going to happen, unfortunately. I can’t wait to paint our chairs & table though, even if we just end up painting them white!

Anyway, here’s what we’ve done so far.

Before, the walls were painted with green stripes – the previous owners decided that rather than picking one green, they’d combine several from one paint chip on the walls. The result was pretty cute actually, but we were very ready for something different. Oh, and Ben looks like that because he doesn’t really like to smile in photos, after 10 years of being together I am still working on that. :)

Grey is such a tricky color to pick. It probably is best to paint a swatch first, but so far I’ve always been to impatient to do this. These were our favorites. I kept thinking that I wanted a gray that felt very friendly and calming to me without being cold at all, and we picked Essential Gray from Sherwin Williams, which has just a hint of lavender to it.

We were going to paint last Friday, but earlier in the week, I came home to find Ben busy taping the room which was great because I was going to ask him if he wanted to paint that night! I guess we really were ready to get this room painted!

And here’s the result! We love how it makes the white pop and how much calmer the room feels being all one color. My camera doesn’t really capture the color true to life, but it still gives a pretty good idea.

I brought in some yellow tulips today from our yard and the yellow against the gray walls makes me happy whenever I look at it!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2011 1:10 am

    The room looks so elegant with the gray and whites, it was a very good choice. I wonder which colour you will pick for tables and chairs. The magenta legs were an amusing option but I am sure that you can compensate with some other ‘touches’ of bright colour: pillow, curtains, a carpet…
    Decorating a room from scratch looks much funnier that using old family furniture that you are not expected to get rid of!

  2. May 5, 2011 7:55 am

    Ah, I love this! I’m a huge fan of white and light grey, so I really love the vibe from the room. I like the shade of grey you picked; I’m looking for a grey for our bedroom and this just might work because we have some purple-ish accents in there. I’ll have to grab a paint swatch of it!

  3. May 5, 2011 10:14 am

    love the gray! Please tell me this is the room with the amazing chandelier you found?

  4. May 5, 2011 12:14 pm

    I love the new color! I think grey pairs with so many colors, the possibilities are endless. The previous various shades of green walls seems as if they couldn’t make up their mind on what color to pick on the paint deck fan so they used them all. I like your paint better :)

  5. May 5, 2011 5:46 pm

    the gray is beautiful- which makes me very happy b/c we’ve currently got swatches of grays in my husbands bathroom…pale pink tile is in there. so it’s a little tricky to find something that doesn’t look too feminine. hopefully we’ll pick well, as you did! :)

  6. May 5, 2011 8:16 pm

    Ooooh dreamy!! That is a very elegant gray. And how fun and modern to pair it with warm colors… I keep picturing yellows, oranges, rusts. You are so good at this. PS – I am on Ben’s side about the smiling! I never smile in pictures either! I can only manage one when it is spontaneous and from the heart :)

  7. May 7, 2011 1:10 pm

    I LOVE the yellow tulips against the gray walls! So pretty! That really is the perfect shade of gray.

  8. May 7, 2011 11:02 pm

    I love the gray color. I’ve been thinking of painting our kitchen a light gray too. It’s such a soothing color :-)

Leave a Reply

