Skip to content

Lovely Monday: StyleCookie

May 3, 2011

I am still on a bit of a Dutch kick and I was intrigued to read about a Dutch blog and e-zine called StyleCookie on Decor8.

I thought I’d share some of the lovely images from their blog with you:


Paper origami birds lamp by Tas-ka.


Love these bare walls with the paper mobile.


I never would think of decorating by tying up antique silverware like this, but I quite love it.

Holly from decor8 also shared some interesting observations about Dutch design:

“I remember talking to a student who said that the current goal of young Dutch designers was to reinterpret “grandmother’s things” into modern wares for modern times without losing their sense of place and culture. You really can see this as a theme in many designs coming out of The Netherlands and I love it. The nod to history is respectful, but the need to update is vital.” – Holly Becker, decor8

I love that: Reinterpreting things from the past for modern times without losing a sense of place and culture. I think that really speaks to the heart of much of Dutch design, there is always a push to innovate but it often goes hand in hand with a sense of history and authenticity. I think that some of this philosophy has definitely seeped into my bones (be it through genetics or exposure).

Some of the deeper meaning behind the name of this blog is that I really am interested in culture and the way we are shaped by the culture we grow up in. And I bring that interest to decorating as well. I think it is fascinating how our environment affect us and I am certainly shaped by North American, and perhaps more specifically Canadian, design at this point as well.

That is one of the things that I love about design and decorating – every person who does it, does it in their own way. 10 people could be coming up with a design for a room and all of them would be different. Because we are all unique and have a unique mix of experiences and backgrounds, mixed with a unique temperament and personality (and taste!), we all bring something valuable and unique into this world – and that includes any creative act. Decorating really is a creative act as well and one way in which we shape our lives.

Some more deeper thoughts this Monday/Tuesday, and I’m not sure I’ve articulated them well, but something that I wanted to share.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2011 9:56 pm

    I love this: “We all bring something valuable and unique into this world.” So, so true. I used to spend a lot of time envying other people’s work and thinking I could never do the same. But that’s the beauty of the creative world — I don’t have to!

  2. May 4, 2011 8:17 am

    I so enjoy crafts that take rural skills but give them a really current twist. In fact, they’re my favourites!! The pictures you’ve shared here are great!

    Do you know, I still haven’t seen the Decor8 blog – shame on me!! Ha!

    Sarahx

Leave a Reply

