Skip to content

Noordermarkt

April 30, 2011

I couldn’t resist sharing a few photos of the Noordermarkt in Amsterdam. On Monday mornings you can find fabric merchants there as well as vintage and antique home wares. It’s so much fun to browse around.

I took a few photos of some finds that I’d have liked to take home…

I quite liked this red chevron fabric, I envision a little ottoman upholstered with it:

I can never get enough of chairs like these, and the color is so lovely too:

These mirrors…I still kind of wish I’d take a chance and taken one of them home. At 25 euros each, they weren’t that expensive. I was afraid they would break in my suitcase, although I guess I could always get a mirror cut to size if that’s the case. Well, maybe next time…

Pretty table.

Also spotted that icon of mid-century design, the Eames chair – not sure if it’s real or not, but who cares, it’s pretty cool!

And this is what I did come home with. All small enough to fit into my suitcase. Put together, it has a bit of a beachy vibe…

I was really thrilled with this vintage French grain sack. The really nice vendor told me she bought it in France and she seemed quite pleased that it was traveling to Canada. I plan to make it into a pillow case, I might even get a couple out of it.

I was also pretty happy with these starfish for our bathroom and pillow cases for our bedroom.

Thanks for listening to my travel stories. :) I hope you enjoyed a peek into this city that I love!

Ps. If ever you go to Amsterdam, be sure to check out Desiree’s Amsterdam City Guide at Vosges Paris. I tell you, the lady’s got taste and she knows all the best spots. :) I wouldn’t have made the Noordermarkt a priority if it wasn’t for her tip and I was so glad I did!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2011 11:31 pm

    thanks for visiting from geeky & sassy!

    so jealous you’re shopping at a european flea market. two years ago i went to quite a few in france and wanted to ship a crate home with everything I saw!!

  2. May 1, 2011 1:39 am

    What a great market – love what you found there. Definitely want to visit when next in Amsterdam.
    Thanks for the Vosges Paris tip too.
    I x

  3. May 1, 2011 12:02 pm

    I love those starfishes for the bathroom! They are absolutely adorable!!!

  4. Megan Faulk permalink
    May 1, 2011 4:28 pm

    love it all! such beautiful treasures!

    thanks for stopping by my blog!

    hope you are having a great weekend!

  5. May 2, 2011 9:15 am

    Love the market! Such gorgeous treasures. Too bad about the whole “Atlantic Ocean” getting in the way. Sigh.

  6. May 2, 2011 9:36 pm

    Love the chevron fabric, and especially the mirrors!

  7. May 7, 2011 7:43 pm

    What a fun time and great finds!

Leave a Reply

