Skip to content

Taking In The Details – Zaandam & Amsterdam

April 29, 2011

This post is entirely inspired by this post by talented designer Amy Meier. She wrote about taking photos of architectural details when traveling. What really got my attention was that she said she collects her images and refers to them for inspiration when designing for clients, translating what she sees on buildings into an element of a piece of furniture or room to create something unique.

So, while I already loved looking at the old buildings in The Netherlands, I took extra notice this time.

This is a building in Zaandam, the city where my parents live.

I love the detail at the top of the window.

These houses are typical of the area where I grew up – both the shape of the house and the green color. Houses like these are still dotted throughout the area.

This is one of the houses that’s close to Amsterdam Central Station. Amsterdam is about a 15 minute train ride from my parent’s house and I’ve always loved that moment of walking out of Central Station and seeing the Amsterdam houses and tasting the atmosphere there.

I love these dark green tall doors.

And how cute is this couple?

Love the red shutters.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2011 11:02 am

    Wow, the architecture is to unbelievable! What inspiration did you come home with? Any building inspire you? I love the red shutters too.

  2. April 30, 2011 1:03 pm

    I love all of these, thanks for sharing! Architecture is one of my favorite places to find interesting shapes, patterns, and colors. Especially in Europe — so many more little details and interesting color combinations than you find here in the States!

  3. May 2, 2011 9:19 am

    I’m so glad you’re sharing! Sometimes it’s easy to forget how magical the details of our ordinary lives can be to someone else (and should be to ourselves). I can’t believe you grew up there.

  4. May 2, 2011 5:43 pm

    Jadyn, Love these pictures! I also noticed the last building with the red shutters- I took a picture of it too I loved it so much!

Leave a Reply

