Skip to content

Developing Your Decorating Style

April 7, 2011

Hello! ~

Today, I am re-posting one of the guest posts that I did for Caiti at Caitidid Designs . Caiti kindly said she was okay with me using it here as well.

I thought it’d be nice to share it here in case you missed it the first time around. Also, I want to be very intentional about developing my approach in both design and business. It is important to me that when I work with a client, they end up with a space that feels very personal to them. So, some of the ideas I talk about here are what I’d like to build upon in the next couple of months.

I’ll post the follow-up post I did for Caiti next week and then do a few posts where I’ll give some illustrations of what I talk about.

I hope you enjoy! ~

If you’re struggling with finding a way to define what’s really ‘you’, you might try one of these suggestions:

Tag photos in magazines or on-line that you love and really analyze what unifies them or what it is about each photo that you like. One thing I realized when I started doing blog posts about interior inspiration was that in writing a line for each photo to express what I liked about it, it made me look at them in a different way because I had to really look at what it was that exactly spoke to me (rather than just thinking: Oh, I like that!). If you’re not on Pinterest yet, it’s a great tool to collect all those images that you love in one place. It can be so revealing to look at the images you collect over time and have a visual of what really speaks to you.

On-line tests may be silly, but if you take a few of them, they can really be helpful in pointing you in the direction of what you love and can even give you the vocabulary to help you describe your style. One that I like is Sproost.

Ask yourself how you want to feel when you walk into the room. Do you want to feel relaxed, energized, inspired, calm? Keep in mind how you want to feel when looking at photos of interiors and see what evokes the feeling you’re looking for. Some questions you can ask yourself are: Is there a common thread in furniture style? Do you see the same pieces coming up again and again? What about patterns? Do your pictures show a more casual or formal mood? Does there seem to be a common element in how the rooms are lit? Are they bright and sunny or more dark and intimate? It may take a bit of time to develop a real feel for what feels like ‘you’, but asking yourself the right questions goes a long way in finding the right answers.

Do you have any favorite memories of a place where you’ve been? Or do you dream of visiting a certain place? There may be elements of that which you can use. For example, I read about an interior designer who had taken a vacation to an exotic destination and loved reading in a hammock. Rather than going home and literally hanging up a hammock, she bought a long, comfortable sofa which she placed in a room where she could get away from “work areas” in her home. This way, she could get comfortable and experience that feeling that she’d had while reading in a hammock. As for myself, I loved vacationing in France when I was growing up and my husband lived in France when he was young, so we chose to have some French style in our home by buying a French provincial sofa and adding other elements that have a French feel to them.

Above all, really listen to your heart and what makes it sing. It can be difficult to discern between what you really love to live with and what you love in a photo or because it’s trendy. For example, I love mid-century modern in photos and when I see it in the store, and I even own a few pieces of mid-century modern furniture. But I realized after paying attention to how I really felt that I didn’t really love that style for myself. I also love photos of white rooms, but in my house I need color. It may sound a little out there, but listening to your heart is not to be underestimated when finding your own style.

I hope these ideas will help you think about what style really expresses the essence of ‘you’.

* Please note that both the blog header and post header in this post were designed by Caiti.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2011 7:18 pm

    So glad I found your blog! I just signed up for email updates =)

  2. April 8, 2011 2:04 am

    I moved a few months ago and I am making the ‘home’ that I want. I found myself reflected in this post since I have been doing all the above without realizing it, maybe out of age and experience or lack of a ‘home’ before.
    Above all, I love when you say ‘listen to your heart and what makes it sing’. What I chose while listening to my heart, makes me sing everytime I enter the room.

  3. April 8, 2011 8:29 am

    That’s a great post. I really like the idea of making myself dentify exactly what it is that I like about a particular home image. I’ll try and do that from now on….and think of you!!

    Sarahx

  4. April 12, 2011 9:14 am

    love this post. So nice to be reminded of the basics. Can’t wait to see some more!

Leave a Reply

