Skip to content

Brass And Copper Pendant Lighting

April 6, 2011

I love this brass pendant from Restoration Hardware. It’s their Vintage Barn Pendant in Antique Brass and goes for $299-$399. Needless to say that is a bit (well, a lot) outside of our budget at the moment.

It reminded me of a recent find by Bryn Alexandra , who was lucky enough to find a couple of copper pendants at the Habitat for Humanity Restore for $60 each.

Then Amanda from Casa Brasi blogged about a pendant she saw at Home Depot which has the same lines and could quite easily spray-painted for the same look.

Not bad for $30. (Find it here)

Amanda recommends painting it with copper gutter paint because it will be a better color match than regular spray paint. I thought that was pretty genius.

It dawned on me that we have a lamp laying around that isn’t quite the same, but still similar enough to try this with.

I held it up in the kitchen (last night, hence the bad lighting), but in reality it’s not attached anywhere. It would be a lot better than the generic flushmount lighting fixture that came with the house.

I wonder if I should try brass spray paint, since I’m really liking brass right now, or should I try the copper spray paint?

Good Life Wednesdays

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2011 10:41 am

    I love your pendant. I think it could go either copper or brass. And you can’t beat the price!

  2. April 6, 2011 2:15 pm

    I’m a new follower from BC Good Life Wednesday :O)

    I love this fixture from Ikea and have been thinking about adding one to our place. I think the copper would be awesome – give it a try. The great thing about paint is that it can be re-painted if you don’t like it! LOL!

    Come over & say hi sometime: http://SallyLeeByTheSea.com

  3. April 6, 2011 3:51 pm

    I can’t believe the ones from Goodwill!! What awesome finds! I love the lights you’ve picked out. So gorgeous!

    Sarahx

  4. April 6, 2011 7:15 pm

    I vote copper! Please post a pic when you decide!

    – s

  5. April 9, 2011 12:32 pm

    I vote copper :) I love how you see things that are way out of your price range but find a way to make it work for you. I really want to develop that sense to be thrifty :)

Leave a Reply

