Skip to content

Chandelier

March 30, 2011

First of all, I want to say a big thank you for your kind comments on my last post. It meant a lot to me.

I mentioned in a previous post that we finally hung the chandelier in my study. Well, I say we, but really all I did was cheer Ben on and hold it up at the end while he connected wires and put the screws back in.

I found the chandelier on Kijiji, it was listed for $75 and I offered $50, which they accepted. It was from an old large home at the Niagara River and I think it was original to the house.

Here it is hanging up in my study:
Chandelier 2

It took me a while to clean it. I sat down with the chandelier and a cloth and rubbed every one of the glass beads as though I expected a genie to appear from it. Halas, there was no genie, but I was still rewarded with a sparkly chandelier.
Chandelier 2

In the background, you can see the curtains that I purchased for the room. They’ll go up soon.
Chandelier 3

They light when it’s on is so pretty. It’s not actually as pink as it looks in the photo, but it is a really pretty soft light.
Chandelier at Night

All is well, as long as you don’t look up. We uncovered a bit of the previous ceiling paint color when removing the old lighting fixture. The ceiling was already painted white when we moved in, so I was surprised to uncover a green patch! I contemplated covering it up with a ceiling medallion which would also add a bit of architectural interest, but the ceiling is a bit sloped so I don’t think it would look right.
Chandelier 4

Oh well, I’ll just have to paint the ceiling one day. Until then, I just don’t look up too much – except to admire my pretty chandelier of course.

This might not be that interesting to anyone else but myself, but here’s what’s still on the agenda for the study:

– Hang hardware for the curtains and hang the curtains.
– Buy fabric to cover corkboard that will go in the frame and hang up the bulletin board.
– Buy a few more pieces of corkboard and cover those with fabric, hang them in a grouping on one wall.
– Hang up artwork.
– Keep my eyes open for frames and mirrors in thrift stores to.
– Purchase a smaller shelving unit with doors for storing things that I don’t want out in the open on the other shelving unit.
– Maybe purchase a small-ish comfortable chair for in the corner.
– Oh and I almost forgot: Painting the ceiling. I am afraid that just trying to patch up the green spot will look too, um, patchy. So, I’ll probably have to do the whole ceiling.

Because most of these things involve spending money and there are other priorities right now, this will be a long-term process. And I am fine with that – especially since it’s already usable right now. I have a gift card to Home Depot so I can purchase the hardware I need for the curtains, so this means those will go up soon! As long as there’s some progress, I am a happy girl.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2011 12:18 am

    Oh my Jadyn, I am drooling over that chandelier! $50, what a deal. The room is coming together, I did care and read your list, you are very organized! I am trying to get my studio “better” looking, but it is hard to not have stuff every where when you are creating. I have a chandelier in mine too. You can never have enough chandeliers I say!

  2. March 31, 2011 2:08 pm

    I absolutetly love that chandelier and for $50?? Thats a steal! I love seeing all the interesting things you have around you really have an eye for decorating.

  3. April 1, 2011 1:39 pm

    Hey Jayden,
    I just saw your site on MML with the midnight hustlers (i’m one too) and thought I’d check ya out. Love your blog and your style. I definitely follow you now!

  4. April 1, 2011 3:59 pm

    Your chandelier is beeeeeeyooootiful! What a great find. I love it. I reckon you could pass off the green circle as a ‘feature’ of the room!!!!! Yup, it’s an original feature, don’t you know?!!!

    Sarahx

  5. April 4, 2011 4:41 pm

    i love-love-love chandaliers. they like any room look better instantly in my opinion! nice job! :)

Leave a Reply

