Skip to content

Lovely Monday: A Better View

March 28, 2011

Remember what I said about keeping it real? Well, today instead of my regular Monday posts with interior inspiration, I’d like to share something from my heart again…

This week has been tough. My grandmother went into the hospital a week and a half ago and over the course of last week it became clear that her health was deteriorating at a rapid pace. On Saturday, she passed away surrounded by loved ones.

It is so hard to say good-bye to someone we love, isn’t it? Even if it’s not forever. Of course, being far away from my family really sucked at a time like this, to put it bluntly. Thankfully, I got the chance to talk to her on the phone a couple of times while she was in the hospital. It was so good to be able to hear her voice and to tell her that I love her. She said that we’ll see each other again and I know that we will. Her faith was strong and it is part of the legacy that my grandparents passed on to us. Such a blessing.

I remember reading somewhere that you die the way you’ve lived. One characteristic of my grandmother was that she liked to crack a joke and she kept her sense of humor till the end. One of her jokes was that the view she had from her apartment (she lived on the 14th floor!) wasn’t good enough for her…

Now, I don’t know if she can look down on earth from heaven, but if she can, her view might be something like the images above which I snapped when my plane took off from the airport in Amsterdam last April…

Another thing that I’ve reflected on was how at the end of our lives it’s really our relationships that matter, the love we’ve shared with the people in our lives. It is what we believe and the things we do that are motivated by love.

I want my life to be rich with experiences, to be present with what is – whether the situation is hard or happy. I want to be a bit more present when spending time with those I love, a bit more open, a bit more vulnerable. I want to tell people I love them a bit more often.

Every experience in life is a chance to learn something new. Every time your heart breaks, it is a chance to be a bit more open to love.

That’s what I wanted to share today. If you’ve made it this far through this long post, thanks for listening, I’m sending love your way.

XO Jadyn

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Littl' Sis permalink
    March 29, 2011 12:53 am

    Beautiful!! I love you, my amazing sweet sister!!

  2. March 29, 2011 6:40 am

    another beautiful post! I am sorry to hear about your grandmother but I am happy to read your reflections in this post. life will always be rich for you i’m sure! wonderful thoughts as always. your grandmother is smiling down on you certainly…
    xox nat

  3. March 29, 2011 12:58 pm

    so sorry to hear about your sweet grandmother-
    i’m sure she has a lovely view and she’ll be looking down on you now–
    xo

  4. March 29, 2011 2:30 pm

    So sorry to hear about your grandmother :(

    If you still want that bag please email me your address and I will ship it right away. Hope all is well with you.

    shaeleen@yahoo.com

  5. March 29, 2011 9:50 pm

    such a beautiful way to honor someone you loved so deeply…

  6. March 30, 2011 4:02 pm

    Another amazing post. You made me think and rethink: you are right, what matters are relationships and the love we have given and received. And not only at the end of our lives.

  7. March 30, 2011 9:06 pm

    I’m so sorry for your loss. What a beautiful post, thank you for sharing.

Trackbacks

  1. A Year in Review >> Twelve Images from 2011 « Dutch.British.Love

Leave a Reply

