Skip to content

Inspiration: Treating Your Window

February 15, 2011

I’ve been learning about window treatments and really find it most interesting. Truth be told, I’d never given much thought to window treatments other than what pattern I want for the fabric.

Personally, I am partial to the clean lines and graphic pattern of a simple pair of draperies like these from West Elm:

West Elm Ikat Ogee Curtains
West Elm

I am also a big sucker for roman shades. Don’t know why, but I just love ’em. Especially in gray:

gray roman blinds kitchen

For something a little more opulent, I like things to still be simple and just have a more luxurious fabric, a bit more volume and a bit more length like in this photo from Lonny. In my own world, I don’t really see much use for valances, as they have always seemed a bit fussy for my personal taste. But I am learning how, in a formal room, they can really add that finishing touch. And even for rooms with a modern sensibility, there is a place for them. You can see this in the window on the left. It’s impossible to tell, but my guess is that behind it hides a blind that can be pulled down for darkening at night. This little valance doesn’t look stuffy at all, but does give a nicely tailored look to that window.

194867-6-10Thomas
Lonny Interior Design by Hilary Thomas

On the other side of the spectrum are these windows, simply decked out with roller shades. I love all the textures in this room by the way. Had the choice been up to me, I’d probably have used a more traditional treatment for the windows but here, where ornate and bare are juxtaposed so nicely, I think this works well and it highlights the slightly quirky spirit of this room.


Lonny Interior Design by Jarlath Mellett

I like the ribbon trim here, and this would also be an easy diy to customize a set of draperies.

Style At Home Window Treatment
Style At Home

A lot about this room is actually really classic, it’s just the patterns and color that make it really bold. I like the volume of the drapes here, to me it gives such a feeling of abundance! I like how the pompom trim personalizes it too and ties together the window treatment and the sofa.

LivingEtc Vibrant Draperies
Living Etc

I found this idea on the website of Dutch shelter mag VTWonen. It’s a fun alternative to cafe curtains! Their tip is to choose an image and have it laser cut out of a sheet of wood (plywood? I’m not sure). Cute, right?

VT Wonen Window Covering
VTWonen

XO Jadyn

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2011 7:37 pm

    The plywood idea is so much fun! That would be a great idea for a window with a not-so-nice view.

  2. February 21, 2011 8:56 am

    wow! i LOVE that bold room with the heavy blue drapes and wild couches!

Leave a Reply

