Skip to content

Project: Desk Part 2

February 8, 2011

I finished painting my desk last week. One project closer to the completion of my home office!

Here’s a quick re-cap of the project.

Before:


It was pretty cute to begin with, not too bad for a $10 garage sale purchase.


I painted it white, then decided I wanted to put some color on the drawers. I mixed some bright teal paint I had with white and painted the drawers with the resulting aqua, to make it feel a little more Marie Antoinette-ish. I also distressed the edges a bit with sandpaper.

I felt that it still looked a bit too clean and innocent, though, so I wanted to give it a little bit more definition and, ehm, dirty ‘er up a bit.

Gray Paint
I watered down a bit of gray paint and applied it to the edges of the drawers.

Desk Drawer

Desk Corner
I also applied some to the edges where I’d sanded the paint away to add to the chippy feel.


I really like what the gray paint adds to the aqua, I think it adds interest without being too obvious.


I sort of liked the hardware that was on it, but I wanted it to “pop” a bit more against the aqua back-ground.


I dry-brushed a bit of gold paint on it just to give it a little extra colour.


Easy peasy.

And here she is after a couple of coats of sealer on it:

I’m looking forward to be blogging at this desk sometime soon. Of course, that will be after I finish re-doing the chair I found at a thrift store to use as an office chair. Stay tuned…

I hope you’re having a great week so far!

XO Jadyn

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2011 10:12 am

    I love it! I am so into aqua right now, I just painted a hutch almost the same exact color as your desk! You did a great job, the room is coming together nicely. One step at a time right?

  2. February 9, 2011 10:21 am

    What a great idea and how well done. You must be really proud of yourself.

  3. February 10, 2011 7:15 pm

    Gorgeous! I love all things inspired by Marie Antoinette. Did you see this post from ColourLovers? Lots of photos and color palettes to drool over.

  4. February 12, 2011 11:56 am

    oh my gosh, jadyn!! you’re right. it was cute before. so cute, that had it been me, i probably wouldn’t have had the vision you had to make it even better. now it’s amazING!!! i love what you did. you have such a knack for that!!!

  5. February 12, 2011 11:20 pm

    So pretty. Love all of the distress work. The gray was a genius idea!

  6. February 17, 2011 3:21 am

    Love the desk, great detail and the color is wonderful!

Leave a Reply

