Skip to content

Thinking

February 6, 2011

Apparently, Walt Whitman said that before he met Ralph Emerson, he was “Simmering, simmering, simmering” and that meeting Emerson was what “brought [him] to a boil“. This brings to mind the fact that the right relationships can be pivotal to our creative work. However, what I’ve been thinking about is that first part, the simmering.

I haven’t written many posts lately concerning some of the stuff that roils around just beneath the surface of my mind and feelings. The truth is that at this time of the year, the grayness of the skies and the seemingly endlessness of the Winter have me feeling a little numb. However, I am not too concerned about that. Because I do, in fact, feel that there are things simmering. Instead of feeling frustrated that I am not feeling very creative, I am going with the flow of where I am and putting effort into executing some of my ideas.

In practice, this means that I am simply doing the normal day-to-day stuff like sitting down and studying every day, and painting some more furniture. Ben, on his side, has been typing away on his business plan so that he can apply for a small-business loan.

With him trying to get financing for his own store and me studying interior decorating, it is an exciting time in our lives. And yet…and yet, in reality this means, of course, many many mundane moments of making unimpressive choices and doing the unimpressive tasks that we hope will in the long run lead to the achievement of our goals.

Above are a few photos I snapped of my dear hubby while he was taking a tea break and thinking over the next few paragraphs to type out in his business plan. Those are moments that we often don’t record, let alone celebrate. However, at this time, these moments are all we have. And they are worth recording. We don’t know where all this will lead to. Whether success or failure, it’s all in the future. So, what I want to remind myself of today is this:

Every time we put effort into something that’s worthwhile to us is a moment well-spent.

I hope you also know that for the things that matter to you.

Hope you had a great weekend!

XO Jadyn

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2011 9:57 pm

    Love this post! It really is important to celebrate the ordinary moments!

  2. February 7, 2011 7:22 pm

    my brother is writing a business plan right now too and we meet up for tea at a shop while he works on that and i work on other “business keeping” stuff for myself- i like the sitting side by side w/ someone when your working on those kind of tasks.

  3. February 7, 2011 8:55 pm

    Congrats on such important prep work! I love the simmering and can’t wait to see it all boil. Hang in there. The sun is coming soon.

  4. February 8, 2011 1:22 pm

    Hey… I’m stopping by from Indie Business 3.0 and wanted to say hello. Maybe our workshop will help you hit that boiling-point!?

  5. February 10, 2011 7:09 pm

    This is definitely something I need to keep in mind right now. It’s really easy to lose the excitement of what you’re working towards in the little everyday boring details. Thanks for the reminder, and good luck!

Trackbacks

  1. An Exciting Week « Dutch.British.Love
  2. A Year in Review >> Twelve Images from 2011 « Dutch.British.Love

Leave a Reply

