Skip to content

Monday Inspiration: Herringbone + Chevron Floors

January 25, 2011

Did you know there was a difference between herringbone and chevron floors?

Neither did I!

I have been thinking about floors lately and have decided what my dream floor for our house is. You guessed it, I’d love to have a classic herringbone or chevron floor.

The difference between the two is a bit of a pot-ay-to/pot-ah-to type of issue, because the overall look is very similar. But if you’re anything like me, you want to know what the difference is anyway, simply because you’re intrigued.

So, I made a little sketch to explain the difference. I promise you will be blown away both by my drawing abilities and the neatness of my handwriting.

So, chevron goes like so:
Chevron Sketch

See? You are impressed, right? Notice the straight line in the middle.

Herringbone goes like so:
Herringbone Sketch

The planks overlap at the top, so the line in the middle has a zig-zag shape.

And once more, side by side:
Chevron + Herringbone Sketch

Pretty cool, right?

So, now that you know how weirdly excited I get about learning things like this (which, by the way, I learned from this post on the blog Things That Inspire), I’ll show you some examples of how beautiful these floors can look. I think they really add interest and lots of (French) classic style to a room:


I love the floor in combination with the straight planks in the rooms next to it. I also love the white walls and the chippy furniture.

Chevron Floor
It also works in a starker palette. I love the gray-tone to the planks in this one.


This is a photo of Erin Fetherston’s Parisian apartment from Domino. So beautiful.

Herringbone Floor Bathroom
And this is the only photo in this line-up of a herringbone floor. I love how it’s used in a bathroom. I love the exposed brass plumbing too.

I hope your Monday was lovely!

XO Jadyn

{Photo Credits}
1-3 My own
4. Via Myleshenryblog
5. Via This Is Glamorous
6. Domino, via Things That Inspire
7. Via Urban Grace Interiors

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2011 7:15 pm

    not sure i’ve ever seen a herringbone floor- but i’ll pay more attention i hope to see it now that i’ve been educated! :)

  2. January 26, 2011 6:57 am

    Didn’t know the difference! But those are some great floors!
    Hope you are well Jadyn! xo nat

  3. January 26, 2011 6:05 pm

    I love learning new things! The Parisian apartment photo is breathtaking! I love how the rug contrasts the floor!

  4. January 26, 2011 10:51 pm

    I have never ever stepped foot on either type! They are both so incredibly beautiful. I can see why you love them. Thanks for sharing the artwork and little lesson :)

Leave a Reply

