Skip to content

Project: Shelving Unit Part 3

January 13, 2011

FINISHED!! Phew, it feels good to be able to say that. I’ve mentioned before that my natural inclination is starting things and that finishing them doesn’t come as easily to me. While I will always love starting projects, I intend to see some of the things I started last year through to completing this year and here’s exhibit A that I am really working on it!

I thought I’d give you the quick run-down on this project from start to finish. Unfortunately I don’t have a good ‘before’ pic. The worst part of it was that someone had scribbled what seemed to be a misspelled racial slur on it. Not a 100 % sure on that, and what it actually was meant to say, but either way, it wasn’t pretty!

First off, it got covered with a coat of primer:

Then a couple of coats of Sherwin-Williams Snow Bound and a bit of distressing at the edges. I also painted a French quote on it, which means The only happiness in life is to love and be loved.

I liked it, but still felt that something was missing. When I came across the blog Jones Design Company, I fell in love with her painted wallpaper and decided to use her tutorial and template to spiff up the sides.

I downloaded the template (it even has the instructions on it), then traced it onto a cereal box and after cutting it out, used that to trace the pattern onto the side with pencil. Emily from Jones Design Company said that when tracing the pattern, she eyeballed it, since she had a pretty good idea of how to keep going straight. Me, however, not so much, so I used a ruler and after figuring out how I wanted to do the placement of the pattern, I used the ruler as I was going down to make sure that it was evenly spaced throughout. It wasn’t as hard as it may sound, I’d just quickly hold up the ruler to make sure it was going in the right direction.

Then I painted on the lines and discovered that thicker looked better, after which I went back to re-trace it all before finishing the one side.

Then turned it around and did it all again (except without having to do any re-tracing this time!).

And here you can see the pattern on the side with the quote on the front.

Yay!

Now on to finishing one of the other projects that I have on the go!

Also, this week, I am really trying to relish the beauty of a snowy day. After lots of snow (and much more to come!), it is easy to get tired of it. Yet, there is something about winter that is so beautiful, like here, the graphic feel of bare branches against a white sky and snow-covered ground.

We also introduced Halo and Cider to each other. We’re trying to take it slowly as we want to avoid any incidents. Halo is rather boisterous and we’re a little worried poor Cider may end up a little traumatized if he ends up getting chased by an overly excited dog. So far so good though.

XO Jadyn

{Linking up with this fun party}
Domestically Speaking

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2011 10:47 am

    Oh you are on a roll now! That looks so beautiful! I love, love love it. You didn’t over do it either, and that is what makes it even more spectacular. Great job Jadyn.

  2. January 13, 2011 11:34 am

    It looks great! I really like the quote {reminds me of a line from Moulin Rouge}. So glad you were able to use the pattern.

  3. January 13, 2011 12:31 pm

    LOOOOOVEEEEEEE the picture with Cider!!!!

  4. January 13, 2011 12:32 pm

    Oh en je kast natuurlijk ook!!! Kan jij mijn meubelen ook redoen:)

  5. January 13, 2011 4:07 pm

    This turned out fabulously. And it looked fun to do too!

  6. January 15, 2011 9:57 am

    This came out amazing! I really want to be able to do some DIY stuff when I get my new place!

  7. January 17, 2011 5:06 pm

    Wauw wat een unieke kast heb je gemaakt! Well done ;)

Leave a Reply

