Skip to content

Project: Shelving Unit Update

January 6, 2011

I finally added a pattern to the side of the shelving unit that I posted about a while ago. (You can find the original posting here.)

I downloaded the pattern from Jones Design Company, the blog where I got the idea from. I really love the fabric-inspired pattern an thought it would add some nice interest to the side of the shelving unit. I was not wrong, my friends.

On the left you can see that I started of with thinner lines and discovered that painting the lines thicker looked better once I got to the top. So I went back and retraced all the other lines to make them thicker.

And here’s a closer look at the pattern:

I have to be honest and tell you that I was really intimidated by this project before finally tackling it; I don’t have the steadiest of hands and the paint I used for the pattern is oil-based.

The only reason I was using an oil-based paint is because I bought it as a mistint at Sherwin-Williams for only $10. I love the taupe-y color, in certain light it has a really pretty lavender tint to it. The finish is also beautiful. However, because it is oil and because it is dark in contrast with the white background, I was really afraid of making mistakes and not being able to remove them completely. I ended up realizing that steady does it and just going slowly and giving myself the time that I needed seemed to do the trick. I will say that I didn’t find it easy, but certainly satisfying.

I still need to do the other side, so there will be a follow-up to the update!

XO Jadyn

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2011 2:28 am

    Oh I love it. The thicker lines are nice. Good for you for going for it. Can’t wait to see it all finished.

  2. January 6, 2011 11:20 am

    I LOVE it. What a great idea! Fantastic job!

  3. January 6, 2011 3:47 pm

    Jadyn! Happy New year! It’s been so hectic, and I was out of a computer for awhile, so I’m hoping to get back in the swing of things and start checking your blog more often. It’s been so long, but it looks like you’ve been up to great things! Cute new kitty too!
    I hope your holidays were great and I hope that 2011 will bring you all you wish for.
    much love to you, natalea

  4. curious.adventure permalink
    January 14, 2011 5:15 pm

    i had to tell you about this candle that i bought yesterday… the pattern reminded me of your shelf unit. not completely the same but it is lovely just the same :) loved seeing the progress update. love that pattern! here is the candle: http://www.zgostore.com/Voluspa-Maison-Blanc-Collection-Gardenia-Colonia-2-Wick-Metallo-Candle-11oz-_p_484.html

Leave a Reply

