Skip to content

Love, Peace & Joy

December 28, 2010

Love Peace & Joy 2

In the photo I posted on Christmas, there were little sticks hanging on the chandelier in our living room. I thought I’d share a bit more about them today. Christmas may be over, but I thought I’d share this idea with you anyway. I always love small details like these kinds of decorations.

I came across this idea in Dutch shelter magazine VTWonen. The idea is super simple: Collect some sticks outside that have been bleached by the sun and that have a nice shape. Screw small hooks in on one side and hang them up. The photo in VTWonen is very cool and minimalistic: There is a bare gray wall in the background, a piece of white pottery and a white heart hanging up with three sticks. I really loved it. My house is not quite so minimalistic though, so I added my own touches.

I found some sticks in the park when I was walking Halo. I love words, so I wrote with coloring pencils on them: Love, Peace and Joy.

Then I bought some hooks at the hardware store, screwed them in and hung the sticks to the chandelier in our living room.

Love, Peace & Joy 2

A simple decoration, a simple message. I just love the texture of the sun-bleached wood:

Joy

There is a part of me that feels like Christmas isn’t over at all. Do you ever feel that way? There is such a beauty in celebrating something, in setting aside a special day. When it’s over, I just want to hold on to that feeling. That’s why I never take down my Christmas decorations right away. Maybe for January, I’ll make some new decorations, just to celebrate January.

Love, Peace & Joy,

XO Jadyn

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2010 12:00 pm

    Just wanted to let you know this post inspired my latest post! The sticks are beautiful, and I think you could easily hang them on a wall or somewhere else in your home for the rest of the year as a way to keep a little Christmas spirit alive all year long.

Trackbacks

  1. Christmas magic
  2. Christmas magic // Elembee

Leave a Reply

