Skip to content

Monday Inspiration: Family Man

December 27, 2010

If you’ve been following this blog for a while, you probably know this: Whenever I watch a movie, I can’t help but check out the set design. Yesterday morning, I watched Family Man on Netflix. I hadn’t seen it and it seemed like a good movie for Boxing Day. Family Man is not one of those movies knows for its style and therefore probably an unlikely candidate to be mentioned in relation to interior design.

However, my eye caught sight of their kitchen and I really liked the colors of it, and the unusual way the cabinets were painted.

I took some screen shots to preserve the images for future inspiration. The quality is not the best, but you’ll get the overall idea:

I love the peacock blue color and the way it is only used on the cabinet doors while the rest of the cabinets are cream.

Family Man Kitchen

I think the peacock blue and a lighter teal work really well together.

Oh, hello Nicolas Cage!

The arrows on the photo mimic what my eyes focus on when I watch a movie, hehe.
You can see that in addition to the blue and teal, there was also a soft gray (ignore the spelling mistake in the photo, I always think “gray” should be spelled “grey” for some reason) used as and accent. I tried to color match the colors in the photo to really show the color palette. It’s pretty, right?

It also reminded me of the latest issue of House & Home. Ben bought if for me as a stocking stuffer, I was impressed with his choice!

I thought of these two pages, which show a palette that, even though they’re not exactly the same colors, I thought were similar in feel color-wise.

House & Home Colette van den Thillart

House & Home Jan '11 p.30

Maybe later this week, I’ll put together a few ideas of ways to dress up a kitchen with this color palette!

Hope you’re having a great Monday!

XO Jadyn

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 28, 2010 5:54 am

    I love Nicholas Cage… and Family Man is one of my favourite cheer-me-up films… but I have to admit, I’d never noticed the colour of their kitchen cabinet before! Inspiration in unusual places!

  2. December 29, 2010 6:35 am

    This made me laugh – you’re my opposites as we are a Dutch (husband) Canadian (me) couple living in England! Thanks for the mention and i will be posting more on teal and peacock blues on our blog shortly. colette

  3. January 2, 2011 3:17 pm

    I love movie sets too. Genius idea taking screenshots! The movie The Holiday has two houses I literally drool over. Cannot pick between them. What a great post! Looking forward to reading more of your interior design ideas!!

Leave a Reply

