Skip to content

Oh Denneboom…

December 22, 2010

We had fun decorating our tree…

The tree itself is a cheapie from Walmart that we got a few years ago. Every year, I tell Ben I’d love to get a real tree just this once and he usually agrees that it would be cool. But then in the end we decide that we can use the money we’d spend on a real tree better on other things and up goes our faithful fake again…

I love it though.
Christmas Tree Decorating

Ben gets very serious about decorating the tree. This year, it actually took us a few days, because when we got started, we realized we didn’t have an extension cord long enough to plug in the lights. Ben insisted that we had to plug them in to make sure they were perfectly spaced before we could do any more decorating. Because he kept forgetting to pick up an extension cord, the tree sat quite bare, with just the lights, for a few days…You can imagine I was excited when we actually got to decorate it.

And the lights? Turns out they were perfectly spaced to begin with. Oh well…
Ben Christmas Tree Decorating

Halo had to be part of the fun too, of course. He took his excitement out on his Kong chew toy. Best chew toys ever.
Halo Christmas Tree Decorating

Until he finally managed to get Ben to pay him attention and play catch with him.
Halo Sitting Pretty

As for the Christmas tree, we had a glass topper from Ikea, but I broke it last year. So I made this little star topper out of scrapbook paper to replace.
Christmas Tree Topper

I love traditional Christmas colors. Last year, we had more red ornaments, but this year, I mostly used green ones.

We have a few vintage ornaments like these. Well, vintage…they’re from a church basement. I just think vintage sounds good.
Christmas Ornaments 1

For a few years, Starbucks had these tea cup ornaments. They had the year printed on them and my plan was to buy one every year. Well, that only lasted a couple of years and then they stopped making them…

I love the golden star ornaments, they’re from Ten Thousand Villages, a Fair Trade retailer.
Christmas Ornaments 2

And of course, there’s mr. Panda. I love him.
Christmas Ornaments 3

The green ones are from Ikea. I picked them up when they were priced down on Boxing Day a couple of years ago.
Christmas Ornaments 4

Done!
Christmas Tree 1

Well, almost…

I decided to add some red in the form of linen ribbons. So here it is…

Will it be a white Christmas? I’d say the chances are pretty good…
Window View

And now I’m off to finish writing my Christmas cards. They won’t make it on time, but it’s the thought that counts, right?
Christmas Cards

Right??

XO Jadyn

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 23, 2010 10:16 am

    The tree looks fantastic! My husband helped decorate the tree this year..I would say he needs a little more practice lol We don’t get snow here, but we have had a lot of rain, so it feels a little like winter/Christmas. I don’t send out Christmas cards…just pure laziness, but I love to get them, selfish I know, so I am sure your friends and family will appreciate getting their card even though it may be late. Have a very Merry Christmas.

  2. December 23, 2010 6:04 pm

    your tree looks great- i do get a real tree each year and it smells SO good, but i feel a little mean abusing a tree that way- you’re going about it in a much greener way! :)
    i’m jealous of your white christmas. evidently, we actually had one here in dallas last christmas, but of course, i was out of town and missed it. this year, rain is in the forecast. :(
    merry christmas, jadyn!!

  3. December 24, 2010 2:51 pm

    Wat zijn je takken wonderschoon….How come the cards are never in time… same here ;)
    Wishing you happy Christmas eve.
    Desiree

  4. December 27, 2010 2:13 pm

    The tree looks great, loved all of your other creative Starbucks decorations about the house too :)
    Hope you had a lovely holiday!

Leave a Reply

