Skip to content

Living Room Fabrics

November 19, 2010

With my course work, I am now moving into the part where it gets exciting because I get to be creative.

So fun!

So far, among things I’ve learned are how to properly measure a room and make a rough sketch of it and how to develop it into a professional drawing to scale. Now, I’m starting to learn how to create a furniture layout and how to decorate with fabrics, color etc. I can’t wait to learn all about it! These are things that I look forward to learning more and more about ~ not just in the course, but also long after as I am sure there will always be something new to learn!

So, perhaps I should have waited until I’d done my lessons on fabric, but I have already ordered a couple of things for my living room.

I ordered this throw sold through HSN. It’s from the Nate Berkus collection and currently on sale for $14.97. I love the herringbone pattern and the fact that it’s made of 100% cotton.

Nate Berkus Herringbone Throw

I also ordered 5 yards of this linen cotton blend damask fabric through Etsy. It actually looks quite different in real life. I received a sample from the seller before I placed the order, because I knew I loved the pattern, but wasn’t sure whether the red would be right for our living room. Turns out, it goes very well with our red wall and so the order has been placed. I’ll be sure to take photos as this picture really doesn’t do it justice!

Red Damask Fabric

I have also been eyeing this fabric, also from an Etsy seller. I’ve requested a sample and it should arrive sometime next week. Can’t wait to see it in real life! I think this would make lovely throw pillows.

Amy Butler Arabesque Paisley

What’s kind of funny is that HSN doesn’t ship to Canada. However, as luck would have it, I am going to California for a week to visit my sister (yay!) and so the throw is being shipped there so I can take it home in my suitcase. Also, the damask fabric would be $30 for shipping to Canada and $13 within the States, so that is being sent to California as well.

The thing is that I am flying with United Airways who charges $25 for every bag you check in so I only want to travel with a carry-on.

To top it off, Tiffany (my sister), sends me a message to tell me that she’s packed a lot of stuff in her suitcase and that not even all of it is for herself and to make sure that I have enough space in my suitcase to take stuff home with me.

So…I’ll just have to wear the same pair of jeans for a week and fold a few tops real tightly. It’s all good.

Things you do for love (of decorating)…

Hope you’re all having a great week!

XO Jadyn

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2010 2:22 pm

    Great finds and perfect timing with your visit to California…thanks for visiting our blog – we love hearing from you!!

  2. November 19, 2010 5:23 pm

    I love that red damask fabric! I just refuse to fly anymore…the extra charges, the security pat downs, the long waits etc… just one big turn off for me. Hey! I live in San Diego, are you coming any where near me?

  3. November 19, 2010 6:11 pm

    your course sounds like real fun! Love the blanket ;)
    leaving you with wishes for a good weekend ;)
    desiree

  4. November 21, 2010 5:02 pm

    My advice: pretend you’re Middle Eastern and wear the fabric home as a burka. Of course, of course, I love that red fabric. Can’t wait to see what becomes of it!

Leave a Reply

