Skip to content

Lovely Monday: Den

November 15, 2010

I had fun today playing around with a neat feature of the website of Dutch shelter magazine VTWonen, creating moodboards.

We have a second story in our house which serves as Ben’s man cave the entertainment area and there’s also an extra room which has served as a guest bedroom and would make a great craft room as well.

Our downstairs contains more classic elements, but I think upstairs it would be fun to go more into a funky, mid-century modern direction.

Here’s the moodboard with some ideas of what I think would look cool in this space:

– I love the patterns and bright colors in these bookcases.
– Love that gray sectional.
– Ben has that requisite ugly chair that men seem to get attached to (or is that just Frasier’s dad (and my husband)? Anyone remember that episode?). It would be great to replace that with a chair that meets both his approval in terms of comfiness and mine in terms of design, like this purple one or the checkered one.
– I’d love a simple table like this as a desk.
– We already own a side table from Urban Outfitters that looks a lot like this little white number.
– I love the bright blue in the middle photo and the crocheted poufs.

We also own a mid-century modern sideboard along the lines of this one. I am wondering whether it would be fun to paint it a bright color, although it is a beautiful wood and it’s in a great state, so I’m not too sure…


{image credit: Designer Spaces}

When I showed the moodboard to Ben, he said it has potential, but also informed that he had his own ideas concerning the space. He couldn’t quite articulate what they are, so I’ll have to see if I can coax them out of him over time. Needless to say, we’ll have to both agree on what we do with it, but if I can at least convince him to go for a more stylish option to replace his ugly green chair, I’ll be quite happy!

Hope your week is off to a good start!

XO Jadyn

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 15, 2010 11:38 pm

    I love the whole vibe of your mood board! Luckily my husband doesn’t have one of those chairs, but I know A LOT of other women who’s husband’s do. I bet you can get just as comfy of a chair that he will love.

Leave a Reply

