Skip to content

Thoughts on Generosity

November 7, 2010


{Click image if you want to find out more about Spring into Action}

The Spring ladies have decided to continue giving out weekly blogging prompts. I really like how they get me thinking about things I might not normally think about. So, here we go for this week:

What does generosity mean to you? How are you generous?

To me, generosity means giving of yourself. Generosity, I think, implies abundance. Not only does it give, it gives from the heart, and it gives willingly and freely. So, generosity is really a matter of the heart and not just something you do, although it does involve action.

In the Bible is a story where Jesus and his disciples watch people put money into the offering box in the Temple. They watch rich people put large amounts of money in it.

Pretty impressive, right?
Pretty generous to give money away, and large amounts of it no less.

They watch a widow walk up to the box and put two coins into it. Jesus turns to his disciples and tells them they’ve just witnessed the greatest act of generosity they’ve seen all day. He tells them the widow didn’t just give some of her money, she gave it all.

Growing up, hearing this story in Sunday school, I found this story disconcerting, because I thought that it meant that I should be like the widow and give away all I had. But I knew I wouldn’t do that (let’s be honest here) ~ so did that mean I should just forget about the story or feel guilty about not living up to this standard?

But now that I’m older, I think Jesus really was talking about the widow’s heart. He wasn’t saying that everyone should do exactly what she did. But he was watching people and made an observation. She gave it all – she was being the most generous. And I think the lesson for me is to be aware of what I give and where I do need to give my all ~

There are times where I need to give someone my full attention.
There are times when I see a need and I can give just a little more than I feel comfortable with.
There are times when I need to make time for something where I feel like I don’t have any.

It is all about the place where it comes from.

It’s sort of hard to say where I am generous. I do give away money to some causes that I gladly give to and it comes from my heart. I do give my attention to people and I try to put my own “stuff” to the side when I’m with someone and I try to listen and be there for others when I can and truly be happy for others when something good happens to them.

So, that’s my story. What are your thoughts on generosity? How are you generous?

XO Jadyn

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2010 10:03 pm

    What a great post! I forgot about that story, I think your analysis is right on. You don’t have to give everything away to be generous. I can honestly say that I feel that I am a very generous person. I have had many hard and trying times in my life, and it never ceased to amaze me how people gave unselfishly to me and my family. The first time was when I was 8 years old and our house burned to the ground. Our community gave and gave until we actually had to turn them away because we had too much. It really made an impact on me at such a young age I have never forgotten that. Then, my mom suddenly died when I was sixteen and my sister was eighteen, we were poor and had no where to go, and once again the community blessed us with their kindness. Now that I am older and have gotten to a point in my life where I have extra time and am financially grounded, I give of both whenever I can, my way of giving back generosity of what I saw first hand growing up.

  2. November 7, 2010 10:34 pm

    generosity doesn’t come as naturally to me as it does some people i know-

    they never hesitate in giving of themselves, and helping out.
    i try to work on that, to say yes!! i think my hesitations come from not knowing if i’ll really be able to pull it off– whatever is needed of me.

    but sometimes, it’s just giving time to some one, and when i do that, it does feel great- hopefully to whoever is receiving, and most definitely, to me!

  3. November 8, 2010 10:50 pm

    Thanks for visiting my blog! Very happy to find yours as well. Love to hear about your interior design school.

    Come back and visit…

  4. November 10, 2010 7:38 pm

    What a great post topic.

    The feeling of generosity always surprises. I don’t think there is any time that we are “more in the moment” than when we are giving from a place of sincerity and love. The ego evaporates and we are awash with a sensation of goodness, purity… I am not explaining this right! I think generosity is the closest I will ever get to enlightenment in this lifetime.

Leave a Reply

