Skip to content

Lamp Shades

November 3, 2010

Living Room

I found these lamp bases on Kijiji (it’s like Craig’s list, but used more around here) and fell in love with their unusual shape. They are pretty bulky though; they’re not shy lamps and certainly not generic. They make a statement all their own and I felt they would work well in the eclectic, vintage, well-travelled look I’m trying to achieve in our living room. Now the next step is adding lamp shades.

Originally I was thinking I’d like to add a rich blue colored lamp shade. I realized this would be more challenging than I thought when I did some shopping in the area and found no lamp shades that have a fitting that goes with a harp (the wire-y parts sticking out on top). So, I went on-line and found a few nice, but kind of generic, ones at Target. I do like this one faux leather one, I think it adds a very masculine feel to the lamps:

Target Faux Leather Bell Shade

I also found a website that I really liked called Ballard Designs. I found some lamp shades that I think could really work:

Ballard Document Shade
I love using writing as a decorative element and I love French, so you can see why this lamp shade caught my eye.

Ballard Callisto Stripe Shade
I love the woven-in stripe which co-ordinates with the dark bases.

Ballard Red Silk Shade
I have a weakness for both natural and luxurious fabrics, and silk is both. This lamp shade is made of red silk, which might co-ordinate really nicely with our red wall. Also, it kicks up the statement factor of the lamps another notch.


This one is clearly more neutral, but also made of silk, which will still add a really nice, luxurious texture to the room.

Ballard Burlap Shade
Burlap may be a more humble material, but I love its look. It also makes me think of travel, somehow. Perhaps it has something to do with it being a packaging material for things that travel far and wide, like coffee beans.

Ballard Seagrass Shade
Another great natural material is seagrass. I am not entirely sure how this would co-ordinate with the lamp bases, but I sure do love this shade.

Ballard Cheetah Shade
There is a part of me that would really like to dress ‘er up like she going into town, but I think perhaps that may be taking the lamps just a touch over the top for my taste. It’s a great shade though.

What do you think?

XO Jadyn

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Littl' Sis permalink
    November 4, 2010 5:14 am

    :* love it! Je huiskamer wordt echt een geheel zo he? Vind de lampen ook heel leuk zonder kappen eigenlijk..nu kijk je er meer naar..en zijn ze een beetje rugged:) maar goed, misschien is het niet heel practisch – te fel.. Ben benieuwd naar je keuze!
    moewah

  2. November 4, 2010 9:34 am

    So many interesting choices! I’d have such trouble choosing if it were my room. This is why I have such a problem with interior design… I get swept up in all the options and can’t make a decision!

    I really do like most all your options here, but I found myself initially drawn to the French writing shade or the one below it with the woven stripe. I’ll be curious to see what you decide!

  3. November 4, 2010 5:35 pm

    jadyn, i REALLY like the one with the writing on it!!!
    it’s a great base- can’t to see which you choose for the shade.

Leave a Reply

