Skip to content

Melissa’s Home

October 28, 2010

Lovely reader Melissa asked me for some input on her decor. She and her husband just moved into their brand new home, which was just finished in the Summer. Here’s what she wrote:

Our house is in a small wooded development with a tiny pond directly across. So I kind of want a modern but comfy casual cottage-ish, cabin-ish feel, with warm neutrals (we fell in love with earthy adobe colors when we lived in the Albuquerque desert). And now here we are in New England!

Back to beige… too much tan can get boring… right? So I would like to add color with textiles. Lots of patterns. Lots of mixing patterns in small unexpected ways. Pot holders, quilts etc. Mostly patterns in muted colors… moss greens, dark rusty oranges etc.

Do you think this will work? Any suggestions?? Very open to ideas! I am attaching some pics of the kitchen and some patterns I really love.

Her photos:

I did some browsing on-line and came up with these ideas:


Red set: Walmart
Green set: Target
Tea towel: IKEA


Table runners: both Pottery Barn
Blue fabric (which could easily be turned into place mats): IKEA
Red place mats: Walmart


Throw, green and red throw pillow: Target
Paisley throw pillows: Pottery Barn

She loved the table runner and the red place mats and she’s considering purchasing those for the Thanksgiving dinner they will be hosting. She sent me this collage which shows how it will look in her home:

I had a lot of fun tackling this little challenge!

I couldn’t have put the photos together as nicely without Melissa (who blogs over at Sweet Gypsy Promise). After seeing how nice the collages of photos were that she sent me, I asked her if she’d mind teaching me and she did. Thanks Melissa!

XO Jadyn

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 29, 2010 12:17 pm

    oh, that’s great- a big improvement without to much $$ :)

Leave a Reply

