Skip to content

Thoughts on Being Surprised by my Creativity

October 23, 2010


This week’s question: Have you ever been surprised by your creativity?

First, a visual:


{credit: Ditte Isager}

The short answer

One thing that always surprises me about my creativity is its resilience, how it can lay dormant for a while and then come back in full force.

Ebb and flow

I can look back over my life and see periods of time in my life where I spent much of my time being creative and also long periods of time where I spent almost no time being creative. Yet, even when I was not giving my creativity the time of day, it was still there, biding its time until I was ready to pay attention to it. Then there is the other side as well – times where I desperately wanted to be actively creative but felt unsure of where to start, times where I felt like I had no good ideas or simply no ideas at all.
Even at this point in my life, where I am feeling pretty inspired most often, there is still an ebb and a flow to it all. And in the times where things don’t really flow the way I want them too, there can a bit of fear creeping in. I find myself wondering during those times whether I will ever feel as creative as I have before and I tend to be restless when I am not in the place where I’d like to be. Yet, it always comes back and I’m trying to start to trust the process.
The image above made me think of a different way of framing those times where my creativity is more dormant, to see it as a time of beautiful rest rather than a time of emptiness.

Grace

The other thing that always surprises me is connected to this idea of ebb and flow: There always seems to be just enough creativity when it is needed. Whenever I am focusing on one thing, be it a blog post, cooking a meal or decorating a room, there’s always enough ideas for that one thing and – possibly more for others down the road, but usually I find it’s pretty focused to what’s at hand in the moment. In a way, I look at it as a sort of grace. Grace meaning in this context a Divine provision at the right time and in the right measure.

I think that part of me has always thought that pursuing a creative profession would be too hard or scary, because I was afraid that somehow my creativity would just run dry. But I am realizing that this really isn’t something that I ever need to be scared off. With creativity there is always a sense of play involved, and the interaction of my own thoughts and ideas with the world outside me will always keep the creative juices flowing if I am open to it. And there is just so much around tho be inspired by in this big, wild world that we live in.

What about you, have you found yourself being surprised by your creativity?

XO Jadyn

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2010 11:50 pm

    I think creativity comes naturally, I don’t think you can ever lose it. You might get burned out, and take a break, but it is always there waiting to be re-visited when you need it. You either have creativity or you don’t. I know I will never lose my creativity, but what I would LOVE to find again is my drive to exercise :) I used to work out at least 3 times a week, and now it has been about 2 years with very little exercise and I can’t seem to get it back. Got any hints for that one?

  2. October 24, 2010 11:54 am

    Love your description of the ebb and flow! I can really relate to this.

  3. October 24, 2010 7:41 pm

    jadyn, i love this post!

    yes, i agree about creativity’s ebb and flow. i used to freak out when i felt out of ideas and wonder if i had written my last song. but now that i’m older and wiser and have been thru it many times, i know it’s like you said- ebb and flow- and there’s no reason to worry. in fact worrying about it is pointless. i just try to live life and now that’s what inspires creativity anyway…

    sometimes i’m just surprised that i created something when i look back on it years later. it seems like another person…

    this is a great topic of discussion so i hope lots of your readers will add to this- :)

Trackbacks

  1. Brilliantly Stated « A Beautiful Ripple Effect
  2. Brilliantly Stated — Carolyn Rubenstein

Leave a Reply

