Skip to content

Thoughts on Using Creativity in Your Every Day Life

October 18, 2010

This week’s question:

How can you use creativity in your every day, “mundane” life?

One of the things I kept thinking about after this, is how it can start with a simple question:

“I wonder what would happen if…”

Tapping into my curiosity is for me the surest way to get the creative juices flowing and to keep me going to the finish line.

Last week, I talked about how I see living creatively as a way of life, not just connecting to things we tend to associate with ‘being creative’ like arts and crafts. And in the same way, asking “I wonder what would happen if…” can apply to all kinds of situations.

– It keeps from feeling I have to come up with the perfect solution to a problem, or a perfect thing to do with my life that will bring me fulfillment forevermore.

– It keeps me from being bored and stuck in the same old routine.

– It invites experimenting with different ideas and approaches when facing a dilemma.

How I use it when being crafty

I used to think that in order to make something I’d have to come up with the perfect idea and execute it perfectly. Along the way, I’ve realized that while starting off with an idea of the finish line is most times definitely be a good thing, getting to the finish line is always a process and not always a linear one.

Like with the coffee table, for example. I started off thinking I’d paint it white. Then the white coat was on and I started thinking: I wonder how it would look with part of the legs painted a different color. Then I thought about which color it should be and how I wanted to divide the two colors along the legs. I thought about the Chanel flats and decided on 2/3 of the darker color and 1/3 white on the bottom. And then I started to wonder: I wonder what would happen if I paint zebra stripes on the top. Will it add interest to the room or will it be too much? I tend to think it will add interest, but I’m not entirely sure. Part of me is afraid of messing up. But then I can’t stop asking: I wonder what it would look like. And most likely, I’ll get out the paint brush again and paint on some stripes just to satisfy my curiosity.

XO Jadyn

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2010 6:57 am

    well-worded! love your thoughts on this! xo

  2. October 18, 2010 10:22 pm

    love this blog topic, so i’m glad you wrote more about it!
    yes, i think wonder, “i wonder what would happen if….” is a great way to look at things! :)

  3. October 19, 2010 8:45 pm

    Love the idea of not being locked into one idea of who we could or should be. I am going to start what if-ing every day. The possibilities are endless. I really never thought of things this way. Thank you :)

Leave a Reply

