Skip to content

Project: Shelving Unit

September 30, 2010

I’ve been painting away this week and slowly I see the end come in sight. This particular project could actually be called finished if I didn’t still have the urge to add more to it…

The before, sort of:

After a coat of primer and a couple of coats of white paint, this is the result:

Before adding a finishing coat, I did a bit of distressing to the edges. It was a little intimidating to take sandpaper to my freshly painted shelves, but I ended up really loving the bit of definition it added to the edges:

I painted on a French quote which says, translated: ‘The only happiness in life is to love and be loved.’ I know I will end up putting stuff on that surface and the quote will most of the time be obscured by objects. Yet, the writing will peek through and I love the look of writing as decorating. I also love the positive vibe of the quote and I like knowing that the thought will be there. Oh, and French – I looove French.

I still think I want to add a bit of pattern to the sides, just to add some extra interest. Am I overdoing it? I’m not sure. Ben thinks I should just leave it as it is…but once I get an idea in my head I can be like a pitbull.
I. Just. Can’t. Let. Go…

So, my idea is to do something like this on the side:


{credit} Jones Design Company

This amazing woman hand-painted this pattern on the walls of a whole room. It looks really awesome and you can find her tutorial by clicking on the image if you’re interested. I can’t quite imagine having the patience to do a whole room, but surely I could manage the sides of a bookcase…right?

XO Jadyn

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2010 9:28 am

    I love your bookcase and the quote. Try using my trick with fabric for the back of the bookcase. The starch method. That way you can buy fabric with that cool design she painted on her walls, live with it and love it, and then just pull it off when you tire of it and change it to another pattern.

  2. September 30, 2010 10:02 am

    Oh, well done you for being brave enough to sandpaper the shelves! I love that quote. And yes, I’d love to see you go for it with pattern… you know you want to!

  3. September 30, 2010 10:43 am

    i love that you painted the quote on there- what a great idea- even if it gets covered up and just peeks thru a bit!! i would’ve never thought of that!

  4. jojo permalink
    September 30, 2010 2:53 pm

    it looks fantastic! great job! love that pattern idea. i think it would look really nice.

Trackbacks

  1. Project: Shelving Unit Update « Dutch.British.Love

Leave a Reply

