Skip to content

Interview with Maggie from Maggie Rose

September 23, 2010

I first came across Maggie through a giveaway she did on another blog. I didn’t win the giveaway, but Maggie generously sent everyone who’d left a comment with an offer to do an Express package for their home office. I took her up on the offer and sent her my ideas for my study room. I still had a hard time putting things together in my head and see the whole picture of what I was working toward. I was amazed at what even a small amount of input from someone with a more honed eye than mine could accomplish! I’d had the idea for a Marie Antoinette inspired room before that, but wasn’t too sure about how to put my pieces together to make my vision come to life.

I never really would have thought of hiring someone for interior design before (being too certain that I could figure it all out myself), but suddenly I realized the value of it. This led me to hire Maggie to help us with our living room. Her prices are really great and she offers something for every budget. It really was through this process of working with her that I started to seriously think about how great it would be to do this for a living, since I also realized that value it can add to someone’s life. I will share more about our living room in a later post.

I asked Maggie to participate in an interview for this little blog and hope that you will be just as inspired by her as I am.

At what point in your life did you realize you wanted to turn you interest in interior design into a business?

I think my initial inkling to make money doing what I love was about a year and a half ago! I just didn’t know the first steps to take or what direction I wanted to go with it. I think last spring is when I really knew that if I was going to expand and grow, I had to take my work seriously as a decorator, get a real logo, focus on what services I was offering, and register as a business for taxes, etc. A big step!

Could you share a little bit about your design philosophy?

I think that everyone deserves a home that is beautiful and that they love, regardless of income. It takes a little more work to decorate on a budget, more elbow grease and more creativity. But the results are often more authentic and full of personality, not by-the-book decorated. I try to always find things that fit a client’s taste, but I’d define my personal style as traditional with a mix of woodsy exotic glamour. The majority of our furniture is classic and traditional but I love to throw in natural touches, exotic fabrics, and always a little dash of sparkle (glass, a mirror, or studded accents!). Somehow it all comes together!

What inspires you?

I don’t know what I’d do without the blog world! So many creative people producing incredible, unique ideas! I also love to look through fabric swatches. I can always think of a million ways to use them! I also love to read and listen to a wide variety of music, and I find that there are many new ideas that come when you’re focusing on something that has nothing to do with design!

What do you find most rewarding about designing rooms for people?

I love to hear back from clients, even a few days after sending their decor package, and hear that they tried one of my ideas and it worked! Often people just have a hard time seeing the room objectively, which as an outsider, I’m able to do. They can get a whole new look with a new floor plan or new wall color, or by ditching some of the dated accents and picking up some new throw pillows, etc. It’s the best feeling to hear that a client loves their room now, and especially when they were able to do it without spending a fortune!

How long have you been blogging and what has the experience been like for you?

I started my design blog in December 2008, so almost two years! It’s been an amazing experience. I love making connections with people all over the country and sharing ideas and inspiration with others that share my same taste, interests, and little obsessions. It’s fun to “talk shop” with my blog friends. And I’ve developed a few very close friendships that I expect will last a long time – I’m planning a trip for 2011 to see one of them, in fact!

As the days turn cooler, do you have a tip for making our homes cozier for the season?

Lighting! If you’re lights are not already on dimmers, make the switch! Soft lighting, a few candles around the room, a cozy plaid blanket (loving one at Target right now), and a classic black and white movie with some popcorn and apple cider – we’ll have you singing the praises of fall in no time!

You just launched your new e-decorating packages, with a package for every budget. What is next for Maggie Rose?

Launching the new packages was a big achievement for me – I love the new Express package and simple Trimmings package! Next up is an e-book I’ve been working on for a few months. It should debut by the end of the month and has practical and unique tips for a favorite decor piece – but you’ll have to wait another week or so to find out what! After that, I’m sure I’ll have another project brewing. I like to stay busy!

Thank you so much Maggie!

You can find Maggie here:
www.maggieroseonline.com
Twitter: @maggieroseblog
Facebook: www.facebook.com/MaggieRoseBlog

XO Jadyn

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2010 2:42 pm

    Thanks for the sweet intro, Jadyn! I’m so glad to share in part of your journey toward your dreams and aspirations! And thanks so much for having me on the blog!

    xo Maggie

  2. September 23, 2010 6:28 pm

    Great interview Maggie! And I’m thinking I’m the 2011 trip?? Tee-hee. Too fun!

  3. September 24, 2010 4:12 pm

    nice, jadyn! i’ll have to visit her blog!

Trackbacks

  1. Winner and a guest post « Maggie Rose
  2. Kind of random Monday « Maggie Rose

Leave a Reply

