Skip to content

Lovely Monday: Marie Antoinette

September 21, 2010

If you’re anything like me and you sort of pay attention to trends, this one is a bit of old news. But I guess news isn’t really what I’m going for!

Sofia Coppola’s movie Marie Antoinette came out in 2006 and after that there was a lot of Marie Antoinette inspired style going on. I have to say that I almost didn’t watch the movie because I’m not the biggest fan of Kirsten Dunst, but my curiosity won out. I love Sofia Coppola’s style, so I figured I had to at least see what all the buzz was about. I was glad I did, because although I thought the movie was a bit slow-moving, the visuals were absolutely gorgeous.

In art history class, I learned that the style of Marie Antoinette’s time is called Rococo and it was a style popular with the elite who indulged in their extravagant lifestyle while the regular people were starving. The style was very much associated with the repression the people experienced and the whole episode in French history which led to the French Revolution and the demise of the French royal family, including, of course, Marie Antoinette.

Anyway, that was a little history for you just because I thought that was interesting. Despite its unfortunate history, I am drawn to this style with its rich pastel colors, its opulence and elegance.

The movie showed a modern treatment and interpretation of Marie Antoinette’s story as well as style. It was filmed in Versailles itself (it was the first time a film crew was actually allowed to film in there), but it was definitely mixed with overtly modern influences such as the soundtrack and colors, and there’s even a brief shot of a pair of Converse shoes in the movie. So fun. I really liked the punk-y edge to the movie.

Lovely colors.

The movie set.

And here’s a couple of modern rooms with the similar style influences:

A gorgeous Parisian room which could easily be inspired by Marie Antoinette.

A Marie Antoinette inspired room with mostly white furniture, which I do really like. I love the airy feel of this.

My study room which I’m working on is actually inspired by Marie Antoinette, so I wanted to show these images before I show my first project-in-progress.

I hope your week is off to a good start!

XO Jadyn

Image Credits:
1,2 + 3. Unkown
4. Homes&Gardens
5. Zang Toi’s New York apartment, photo from Elle Decor, 03/07, by Henry Bourne, via Topsy Turvy

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2010 9:59 am

    When I stayed in Paris, my apartment was called the Marie Antoinette and decorated just like these rooms. It was never my style, but in Paris it felt perfect and sumptuous. I love it.

  2. September 23, 2010 12:09 am

    I love rococo style, I have it throughout in my house. I like the timeless beauty of it, in any color!

  3. September 5, 2013 4:37 am

    Heya i’m for the first time here. I found this board and I find It really useful
    & it helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back and aid others like you aided me.

Trackbacks

  1. This, Madame, is Versailles | architecturebehindmovies

Leave a Reply

